clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jaguars have more postseason wins in the last 20 years than the Cowboys and Chiefs

New, comments

The Cowboys and Chiefs have three combined playoff wins in the last two decades.

NFL: NFC Divisional-Green Bay Packers at Dallas Cowboys William Glasheen-USA TODAY Sports

The Dallas Cowboys’ return to the spotlight was short lived, and the team’s 13-3 season and top seed in the NFC didn’t yield a deep postseason run. Instead, the Cowboys were eliminated by the Green Bay Packers in the Divisional Round with a 34-31 loss.

In the last 20 years, the Cowboys have played in 10 postseason games, but carry a 2-8 record in those games without a single appearance in an NFC Championship.

The Kansas City Chiefs also haven’t been to a conference championship any time recently with a 1-9 playoff record in the last 23 seasons. A chance at the team’s first AFC Championship since Jan. 1994 was spoiled Sunday with an 18-16 loss to the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Unsurprisingly, many franchises have found significantly more playoff success. The New England Patriots are 24-11 in the last 20 seasons and even the Jacksonville Jaguars have managed to string together three postseason wins in the last two decades.

Altogether, 25 NFL franchises have at least three postseasons wins in the last 20 seasons. Washington is tied with Dallas with two wins, and the Chiefs have just one. Only the Cleveland Browns, Buffalo Bills, Detroit Lions, and Cincinnati Bengals have been unable to get a single postseason win in the last 20 seasons