clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Ryan, Ezekiel Elliott lead 2016 PFWA All-NFL team

The Falcons quarterback is a huge favorite to be named the NFL MVP.

Divisional Round - Seattle Seahawks v Atlanta Falcons Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

Another hint that Atlanta Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan is likely to win the NFL MVP Award was dropped Monday when the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) named him the quarterback on the 2016 All-NFL team.

Ryan has become a heavy favorite for the award, ahead of Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady. The Falcons quarterback was also named a First-Team All-Pro by the Associated Press, which is the same group that will vote to name the NFL MVP.

Dallas Cowboys running back Ezekiel Elliott and Kansas City Chiefs jack of all trades Tyreek Hill are also on the PFWA All-NFL team, representing the only rookies from the 2016 NFL draft on the team. They’re also one of four players from each the Cowboys and the Chiefs to earn the honor — the most for any NFL teams.

The 2016 First-Team All-Pro selections are very similar with only a few differences. The PFWA named Cleveland Browns tackle Joe Thomas to the team while the AP selected Jack Conklin of the Tennessee Titans.

Jadeveon Clowney earned a spot on the PFWA team, but wasn’t an All-Pro, while Sean Lee and Chris Harris Jr. are All-Pros but not selection for the PFWA’s All-NFL team.

The full 2016 PFWA All-NFL team:


QB – Matt Ryan, Atlanta Falcons
RB – Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys; David Johnson, Arizona Cardinals
WR – Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh Steelers; Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons
TE – Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs
C – Travis Frederick, Dallas Cowboys
G – Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys; Kelechi Osemele, Oakland Raiders
T – Tyron Smith, Dallas Cowboys; Joe Thomas, Cleveland Browns


DE – Jadeveon Clowney, Houston Texans; Khalil Mack, Oakland Raiders
DT – Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Damon Harrison, New York Giants
OLB – Vic Beasley, Atlanta Falcons; Von Miller, Denver Broncos
MLB – Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks
CB – Marcus Peters, Kansas City Chiefs; Aqib Talib, Denver Broncos
S – Eric Berry, Kansas City Chiefs; Landon Collins, New York Giants

Special Teams

PK – Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens
P – Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles Rams
KR – Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota Vikings
PR – Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs
ST – Matthew Slater, New England Patriots