clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Hockey Hall of Fame 2017 live stream: Start time, TV channel, inductees, and how to watch online

Boston Bruins v Toronto Maple Leafs Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

The Hockey Hall of Fame officially makes room for the 2017 class with the induction ceremony Monday night in Toronto. Paul Kariya, Teemu Selanne, and Mark Recchi are among the seven legends being honored in the special event, which begins at 7:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast live by NHL Network in the United States.

The complete class includes Kariya, Selanne, Recchi, Dave Andreychuk, Danielle Goyette, Clare Drake, and Jeremy Jacobs. There are roughly 400 members of the Hockey Hall of Fame with the addition of this year’s group. It’s a special club that recognizes the best that the sport has to offer.

Selanne enters the Hall in his first year of eligibility. One of the NHL’s elite goal scorers in the 1990s, he’s No. 11 in goals and No. 15 in points on the all-time leaderboard. He also won a Stanley Cup with the Ducks in 2007, and four Olympic medals (one silver, three bronze) as a key player for the Finnish national team.

Kariya, one of Selanne’s key linemates in Anaheim, joins his former teammate in entering the Hall. A seven-time All-Star and two-time Lady Byng Trophy winner, his career was cut short by concussion issues, but he was one of the NHL’s elite players in his prime.

Recchi didn’t quite have the peak of Selanne or Kariya, but he brought longevity with a very good 22-year career. He’s got exceptional career numbers as a result — No. 20 in goals, No. 15 in assists, and No. 12 in points. Just as impressive is the fact that he won Stanley Cups with three different teams (1991 with Pittsburgh, 2006 with Carolina, and 2011 with Boston) as a player, plus another two as a Penguins coach the past two years.

Andreychuk is another player whose longevity is what stands out most. He posted 19 seasons with 20-plus goals, which is how he managed to enter the top 15 in all-time goals despite just four 40-goal seasons and two All-Star appearances. The former Lightning captain recently discussed his career with Raw Charge, so that’s definitely worth checking out.

Goyette becomes the fifth woman to enter the Hall of Fame as a player, joining Cammi Granato, Angela James, Geraldine Heaney, and Angela Ruggiero. As a member of the Canadian national team, she won eight national championships and three Olympic medals, including gold medals in 2002 and 2006.

Drake and Jacobs enter the Hall as builders. Drake coached at the University of Alberta for 28 years and is the most successful coach in the history of Canadian college hockey with six national championships. Jacobs has been owner of the Boston Bruins since 1975.

How to watch the 2017 Hockey Hall of Fame induction ceremony

Inductees: Teemu Selanne, Paul Kariya, Mark Recchi, Dave Andreychuk, Danielle Goyette, Clare Drake, and Jeremy Jacobs

Time: 8 p.m. ET

TV: NHL Network (U.S.) and TSN2 (Canada)

Live Stream: TSN Live (Canada)