clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kareem Hunt appeared to catch a crucial Chiefs TD, but somehow it was ruled incomplete

The NFL catch rule strikes again.

The Kansas City Chiefs appeared to take a commanding lead over the Los Angeles Chargers in a crucial AFC West game Saturday night, but the NFL’s catch rules meant the Chiefs settled for a field goal to go up 20-13.

It was still an important score for the Chiefs, but it’s hard to understand how the pass to Kareem Hunt was ruled incomplete and then upheld by replay.

Does the ball touch the ground? Yes. Did the ground assist Hunt in making the grab or cause him to lose control? Ehhhhh ... that’s a stretch.

The NFL gets a bad rap for its catch rule and it’s plays like this that are only going to make more people question it.