clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NCAA hockey tournament bracket 2017: Penn State, Boston University highlight bracket reveal

New, comment

A first round primed for upsets.

2017 Beanpot Tournament - Boston University v Harvard - Championship Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

The NCAA hockey tournament, a 16-team event that will end with a title game in Chicago, unveiled the 2017 championship bracket on Sunday.

Four powerhouses lead each of the four regions: Denver (Midwest), Minnesota (Northeast), Harvard (East), and Minnesota-Duluth (West). Reigning champion North Dakota faces the toughest first-round matchup of the tournament: a date with the talent-laden Boston University Terriers.

Watch for Penn State, Providence, or Air Force to make some early upset noise.

Check out below if your favorite team made the cut.

Northeast Regional

March 25-26

SNHU Arena, Manchester, N.H.

#1 Minnesota vs. #4 Notre Dame

#3 Cornell vs. #2 UMass Lowell

Midwest Regional

March 25-26

US Bank Arena, Cincinnati, OH

#1 Denver vs. #4 Michigan Tech

#3 Penn State vs. #2 Union

East Regional

March 24-25

Dunkin’ Donuts Center, Providence, R.I.

#1 Harvard vs. #4 Providence

#3 Air Force vs. #2 Western Michigan

West Regional

March 24-25

Scheels Arena, Fargo, N.D.

#1 Minnesota Duluth vs. #4 Ohio State

#3 North Dakota vs. #2 Boston University

Frozen Four

April 6

United Center, Chicago, IL

East Regional champion vs. Northeast Regional champion

West Regional champion vs. Midwest Regional champion


April 8

United Center, Chicago, IL

Eastern Regional champion vs. Western Regional champion