clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2017 NBA awards: LeBron James is not a finalist for MVP

New, comments

James missed out in favor of Russell Westbrook, James Harden, and Kawhi Leonard. Here are the other award finalists.

NBA: Playoffs-Cleveland Cavaliers at Boston Celtics Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

The nominees for the NBA’s marquee season-ending award show on TNT on June 26 have officially been unveiled, along with a number of specialty categories. One key man missing: LeBron James. He missed out on the MVP award, thanks largely to the Cavaliers’ late-season swoon.

Instad, James Harden and Russell Westbrook are finalists for Most Valuable Player, along with Kawhi Leonard. Westbrook is the overwhelming favorite to win, based on an analysis of the 100-person media panel by SB Nation Rockets site, The Dream Shake.

The league also announced the finalists for Rookie of the Year, Executive of the Year, Sixth Man, Coach of the Year, Most Improved Player, Defensive Player of the Year, All-Defense, All-Rookie, and other awards. In addition, TNT is allowing fans to vote on six specialty categories: Best Style, Block of the Year, Game-Winner of the Year, Assist of the Year, Dunk of the Year, and Performance of the Year.

This is the first year of the season-ending award show, which will be hosted by Drake. In the past, the league announced the winners during the first week of the playoffs.

Here are all the nominees

Most Valuable Player

Russell Westbrook
James Harden
Kawhi Leonard

Coach of the Year

Mike D’Antoni
Erik Spoelstra
Gregg Popovich

Sixth Man of the Year

Eric Gordon
Andre Iguodala
Lou Williams

Rookie of the Year

Malcolm Brogdon
Joel Embiid
Dario Saric

Defensive Player of the Year

Draymond Green
Rudy Gobert
Kawhi Leonard

Most Improved Player

Giannis Antetokounmpo
Rudy Gobert
Nikola Jokic

Best Style

Russell Westbrook
Dwyane Wade
Iman Shumpert

Block of the Year

Hassan Whiteside on Pascal Siakam
Kristaps Porzingis on Spencer Dinwiddie
Kawhi Leonard on James Harden

Game-Winner of the Year

Tyler Uulis vs. Boston Celtics
Kyrie Irving vs. Golden State Warriors
Russell Westbrook vs. Denver Nuggets

Assist of the Year

Draymond Green to Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant
Nikola Jokic to Wilson Chandler
Chris Paul to Brandon Bass

Dunk of the Year

Larry Nance Jr. on Brook Lopez
Zach LaVine on Alex Len
Victor Oladipo on Dwight Howard

Performance of the Year

James Harden vs. Knicks
Devin Booker vs. Celtics
Russell Westbrook vs. Magic
Klay Thompson vs. Pacers