clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Belmont Stakes 2017 odds: Morning line released

Irish War Cry and Epicharis take over as favorites with Classic Empire out

149th Belmont Stakes - Previews Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images

Classic Empire was a heavy favorite to win the 2017 Belmont Stakes up until Wednesday morning. That’s when an abscess on his hoof caused trainer Mark Casse to declare him out of the third jewel of the Triple Crown. Wednesday afternoon in New York the official morning line favorite was set, and it’s Irish War Cry at 7/2 odds.

Japanese horse Epicharis, who won his first four races, has the second-best odds at 4/1. Lookin at Lee, who finished second in the Kentucky Derby, has 5/1 odds. Tapwrit (5/1) and Gormley (8/1) are also in single figures among the 12-horse field.

The field is relatively open with a lot of missing star power. Always Dreaming won the Kentucky Derby but after a disappointing finish in the Preakness had no reason to compete. Cloud Computing, the Preakness winner, is also skipping the Belmont. Couple that with Classic Empire being out, and you have a recipe for an interesting race even if it takes away a few of the narratives.

The Belmont can be seen on NBC beginning at 5 p.m. The race is set to go to the post at approximately 6:37 p.m. ET. You can stream it online at NBC Sports Live beginning at 3 p.m.

You can find all the starting positions and odds below.

Belmont Stakes 2017 post positions and morning line odds

Post Horse Jockey Trainer Morning line odds
Post Horse Jockey Trainer Morning line odds
1 Twisted Tom Javier Castellano Chad Brown 20/1
2 Tapwrit Jose Ortiz Todd Pletcher 6/1
3 Gormley Victor Espinoza John Shirreffs 8/1
4 J Boys Echo Robby Albarado Dale Romans 15/1
5 Hollywood Handsome Florent Geroux Dallas Stewart 30/1
6 Lookin at Lee Irad Ortiz Jr. Steve Asmussen 5/1
7 Irish War Cry Rajiv Maragh Graham Motion 7/2
8 Senior Investement Channing Hill Ken McPeek 12/1
9 Meantime Mike Smith Brian Lynch 15/1
10 Multiplier Joel Rosario Brendan Walsh 15/1
11 Epicharis Christophe Lemaire Kiyoshi Hagiwara 4/1
12 Patch John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 12/1