clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Drew Brees and the Saints toast a win over the Falcons with turkey legs

The Saints were winners of the best trophy in sports: Turkey legs

The New Orleans Saints’ excellent season kept on rolling with a 31-17 win over the Atlanta Falcons. But what’s also really important is that they ended up winners of NBC’s coveted Turkey Leg Award.

After the game, Drew Brees, Mark Ingram, Alvin Kamara, Cameron Jordan, and Sheldon Rankins were all on the field to dig into some turkey.

“I love this win, like I love this turkey,” Jordan said.

There are a lot of trophies in sports, but biting into a huge turkey leg after a football game has to be the most satisfying one. The Turkey Leg Award was started in 1989 by John Madden and was to be given to the MVP of the primetime Thanksgiving game. The inaugural winner was Reggie White.

It wasn’t just any turkey, though. The Saints got one prepared by celebrity chef Emeril Lagasse. And they were still enjoying it well after the NBC broadcast ended.

It’s not Brees’ first time getting honored on Thanksgiving. Eight years ago, Brees was the winner of FOX’s Galloping Gobbler, a now defunct award, when he diced up the Cowboys for 352 yards in a 30-27 Thanksgiving win in 2010.

A literal turkey leg is the better reward, though.