clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Awards 2018: Winners, highlights, and more

Stick around to find out the best players of the year, including the NFL MVP.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Super Bowl LII - New England Patriots Media Availability Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

The NFL Honors Awards Show took place on the eve of the Super Bowl, and we found out the league MVP as well as several other award winners.

Award winners

Most Valuable Player:

Tom Brady threw for 32 touchdowns and an NFL-best 4,577 yards to win his third MVP award. He also won in 2007 and 2010. Did I mention he is 40 years old? With this honor, he becomes the oldest MVP in major professional sports.

Offensive Player of the Year:

A revitalized Rams offense under first-year head coach Sean McVay made the most out of running back Todd Gurley, who bounced back from a second-year slump to win the Offensive Player of the Year. Gurley rushed for 1,305 yards and led the NFL in yards from scrimmage (2,093) and total touchdowns (19), helping the Rams to lead the league in scoring.

Defensive Player of the Year:

Aaron Donald led the defensive side of a Rams revival in 2017, pacing the team with 11 sacks and five forced fumbles. The fourth-year defensive tackle made his fourth Pro Bowl and third straight All-Pro team, and he now has a Defensive Player of the Year award to go with it.

Offensive Rookie of the Year:

Running back Alvin Kamara got more playing time in his first year as a pro than he did in college at Tennessee. The Saints’ rookie rusher was a force out of the back field with 728 yards rushing plus 826 yards receiving on 81 catches, averaging 97 yards per game from scrimmage. He scored a whopping 14 touchdowns, including a 106-yard kickoff return, making Kamara the choice for Offensive Rookie of the Year, beating out Kareem Hunt of the Chiefs.

Defensive Rookie of the Year:

Marshon Lattimore of the Saints intercepted five passes in his first year out of Ohio State and helped lead a defensive turnaround in New Orleans.

Coach of the Year:

Sean McVay was hired just shy of his 31st birthday, making him the youngest head coach in NFL history. His first year was a smashing success, leading a Rams team that won only four games in 2016 to an 11-5 record in his first year and the NFC West title.

Assistant Coach of the Year:

Vikings offensive coordinator Pat Shurmur won this award after leading Case Keenum and the gang to an NFC North crown. Shurmur parlayed that into his second head coaching gig, now leading the Giants.

Comeback Player of the Year:

After playing just nine games the last two seasons, both shortened by injuries, Chargers wide receiver Keenan Allen set career bests with 102 catches and 1,393 yards to take this award.

Walter Payton Man of the Year:

This one goes to J.J. Watt of the Texans, who raised over $37 million for Hurricane Harvey relief in and around Houston.

FedEx Air and Ground Players of the Year:

Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz, who threw for 33 touchdowns in 13 games before tearing his ACL, and Gurley of the Rams won these awards, voted on by fans.

Clutch Player of the Year:

Saints quarterback Drew Brees set an NFL record with a 72 percent completion percentage and led New Orleans to 11 wins an an NFC South crown.

Sportsmanship Award:

This one goes to Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly.

Celebration of the Year:

The Eagles still have a game to play this weekend, but they have already won something, at least.

Bridgestone Elite Performance Play of the Year:

None other than the Minnesota Miracle, the euphoric Stefon Diggs touchdown to lead the Vikings over the Saints in the divisional round of the playoffs.

Deacon Jones Award:

Chandler Jones of the Cardinals led the NFL with 17 sacks.

Salute to Service Award:

Andre Roberts, Falcons

Greatness on the Road Award:

Deshaun Watson, Texans

Offensive Line of the Year:

Philadelphia Eagles

Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year:

Rob Garrett, Crenshaw High School (Los Angeles, California)

The show took place at the Northrop Memorial Auditorium at the University of Minnesota at 5 p.m. local time. It was broadcast on tape delay on NBC (live stream at NBC Sports, FuboTV) at 9 p.m. ET/PT on Saturday.

The Associated Press votes on and awards the league’s Most Valuable Player, Coach of the Year, Comeback Player of the Year, Offensive and Defensive Rookie of the Year, Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, and the Sportsmanship Award.

It’s the culmination of a year of hard work for many players, though MVP is the biggest of the awards. Tom Brady of the New England Patriots was the favorite for that honor, and won his third MVP.

Fan voting came into play for a few awards that aren’t awarded by the Associated Press. The FedEx Air and Ground Player of the Year is one of them.

The Walter Payton Man of the Year award is always one of the more meaningful awards, and many believed J.J. Watt would win it after he helped raise more than $37 million for Hurricane Harvey relief. He did.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2018 was also announced during the event. Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, Brian Dawkins, Brian Urlacher, Jerry Kramer, Robert Brazile, and Bobby Beathard will all officially be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Saturday, Aug. 4.

Other awards included the Play of the Year, Offensive Line of the Year, Salute to Service Award, and Touchdown Celebration of the Year, among others.