clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ed Reed, Tony Gonzalez headline list of newly eligible for Hall of Fame voting in 2019

Reed has a strong case to be a first-ballot Hall of Famer next year.


The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced it will add eight members in August, including three players — Ray Lewis, Randy Moss and Brian Urlacherwho were eligible for the first time in 2018.

Those who didn’t get in will have a whole new batch of eligible players to compete with in 2019. At the top of that list is former Baltimore Ravens safety Ed Reed, who named a First Team All-Pro five times in his NFL career and is a strong candidate to be a first-ballot Hall of Famer.

Also eligible in 2019 will be former Kansas City Chiefs and Atlanta Falcons tight end Tony Gonzalez, who is behind only Jerry Rice in career receptions, sixth in receiving yards, and seventh in receiving touchdowns.

To be eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, a player or coach must be five years removed from their last NFL game. Here’s a list of notable players eligible for the first time in 2019:

  • Nnamdi Asomugha, CB, Raiders (2003-2010), Eagles (2011-2012), 49ers (2013)
  • Champ Bailey, CB, Washington (1999-2003), Broncos (2004-2013)
  • Dallas Clark, TE, Colts (2003-2011), Buccaneers (2012), Ravens (2013)
  • London Fletcher, LB, Rams (1998-2001), Bills (2002-2006), Washington (2007-2013)
  • Tony Gonzalez, TE, Chiefs (1997-2008), Falcons (2009-2013)
  • Jordan Gross, OT, Panthers (2003-2013)
  • Andre Gurode, G/C, Cowboys (2002-2010), Ravens (2011), Raiders (2013)
  • Vonta Leach, FB, Packers (2004-2006), Texans (2006-2010), Ravens (2011-2013)
  • Willis McGahee, RB, Bills (2004-2006), Ravens (2007-2010), Broncos (2011-2012), Browns (2013)
  • Ed Reed, S, Ravens (2002-2012), Texans (2013), Jets (2013)
  • Shaun Rogers, DT, Lions (2001-2007), Browns (2008-2010), Saints (2011), Giants (2012-2013)
  • Asante Samuel, CB, Patriots (2003-2007), Eagles (2008-2011), Falcons (2012-2013)
  • Chris Snee, G, Giants (2004-2013)
  • Jonathan Vilma, LB, Jets (2004-2007), Saints (2008-2013)
  • Brian Waters, G, Chiefs (2000-2010), Patriots (2011), Cowboys (2013)