clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Olympic hockey 2018: Schedule, scores, and results for the women’s tournament

The Americans leave Pyeongchang with their first gold medal in 20 years.

Ice Hockey - Winter Olympics Day 13 Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Team USA completed its road to the gold medal at the 2018 Winter Olympics with a 3-2 shootout win over Canada in Pyeongchang. It’s the first time that the Americans have won gold in women’s hockey since 1998, the first time that the sport was included in the Olympic program.

Canada finished first in the group stage with a perfect 3-0-0-0 record after topping the U.S., 2-1, in their final preliminary game. It was a close match that suggested another thrilling gold medal game was in the books for these two teams.

That’s exactly what happened as the Americans needed a third-period comeback and a thrilling shootout to topple Canada in the final. Maddie Rooney stood up tall in the shootout to help the U.S. hang on.

The Americans have dominated the international hockey scene recently, winning four consecutive World Championships, but they had not won Olympic gold since the first women’s tournament in 1998. Canada beat the U.S. in the gold medal games in 2010 and 2014, which led to a fierce rivalry between the two countries.

Make sure to check out The Ice Garden, SB Nation’s women’s hockey website, for more coverage of the tournament.

Team previews from The Ice Garden

Team USA
Team Canada
Team Finland
Team Olympic Athletes from Russia
Team Sweden
Team Switzerland
Team Japan
Team Korea

How the tournament works

The tournament starts with the eight teams divided into groups of four for the preliminary stage. The United States, Canada, Finland, and Olympic Athletes from Russia are in Group A. Sweden, Switzerland, Japan, and Korea are in Group B.

All four teams from Group A will automatically advance to the playoff stage, with the top two teams automatically advancing to the semifinals. The other two teams play in the quarterfinals against the top two finishers from Group B.

The playoff stage plays out as a standard single-elimination bracket. There’s also a losers’ bracket to determine the complete order of all eight teams.


All times ET

Saturday, Feb. 10

Group B: Sweden 2, Japan 1
Group B: Switzerland 8, Korea 0

Sunday, Feb. 11

Group A: United States 3, Finland 1
Group A: Canada 5, Olympic Athletes from Russia 0

Monday, Feb. 12

Group B: Switzerland 3, Japan 1
Group B: Sweden 8, Korea 0

Tuesday, Feb. 13

Group A: Canada 4, Finland 1
Group A: United States 5, Olympic Athletes from Russia 0
Group B: Switzerland 2, Sweden 1

Wednesday, Feb. 14

Group B: Japan 4, Korea 1
Group A: Canada 2, United States 1

Thursday, Feb. 15

Group A: Finland 5, Olympic Athletes from Russia 1

Friday, Feb. 16

Quarterfinals: Olympic Athletes from Russia 6, Switzerland 2

Saturday, Feb. 17

Quarterfinals: Finland 7, Sweden 2
5th-8th place game: Switzerland 2, Korea 0

Sunday, Feb. 18

5th-8th place game: Japan 2, Sweden 1
Semifinals: United States 5, Finland 0

Monday, Feb. 19

Semifinals: Canada 5, Olympic Athletes from Russia 0
Seventh place game: Sweden 6, Korea 1

Tuesday, Feb. 20

Fifth place game: Switzerland 1, Japan 0

Wednesday, Feb. 21

Bronze medal game: Finland 3, Olympic Athletes from Russia 2
Gold medal game: United States 3, Canada (SO)

Final results

Gold: United States
Silver: Canada
Bronze: Finland
4th: Olympic Athletes from Russia
5th: Switzerland
6th: Japan
7th: Sweden
8th: Korea

The first Winter Olympics and how Canada ruled men’s hockey