clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA hockey tournament 2018: Bracket, schedule, scores, results, and more

Minnesota-Duluth beat Notre Dame for the championship

NCAA Hockey: Frozen Four-Minnesota Duluth vs Ohio State Marilyn Indahl-USA TODAY Sports

The 2018 men’s hockey tournament is here, with 16 teams whittled down to the Frozen Four, battling in Minnesota for the championship.

Overall top seed St. Cloud State was eliminated on the tournament’s first day, and defending champion Denver fell in the Midwest Regional final to Ohio State, one of three Big Ten teams in the Frozen Four.

Michigan tied an NCAA record with its 25th Frozen Four, and its first since 2011. Notre Dame and Minnesota-Duluth are back in the Frozen Four for a second straight year. Minnesota-Duluth, the only non-Big Ten team in the Frozen Four, returns to St. Paul, the site of their NCAA championship in 2011.


St. Cloud State is the No. 1 overall seed, and has the top spot in the West Region in Sioux Falls. Other No. 1 seeds are Notre Dame, Cornell, and Ohio State.

Defending national champion Denver beat St. Cloud State in the NCHC conference tournament final to earn a seat in the NCAA hockey tournament, and is the No. 2 seed in the Midwest Region behind Ohio State.

Clarkson got at at-large bid out of the ECAC and is the No. 3 seed in the East Region, their 21st NCAA appearance, but first since 2008. Princeton won the ECAC conferent tournament is back in the NCAA tourney for the first time since 2009, as a No. 4 seed in the Midwest.

The ESPN family of networks will televise all 15 games of the tournament, with online streaming available through Watch ESPN. In Canada every game will be streamed by TSN Go, with the championship game televised by TSN2.


The NCAA men’s hockey tournament features a 16-team field split into four regions, playing a single-elimination format. The 16 teams will be reduced to just four over three days from March 23-25, followed by the Frozen Four to be held at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minnesota.


West Region
Denny Sanford Premier Center, Sioux Falls, SD

  1. St. Cloud State
  2. Minnesota State-Mankato
  3. Minnesota-Duluth
  4. Air Force

Northeast Region
DCU Center, Worcester, MA

  1. Cornell
  2. Michigan
  3. Northeastern
  4. Boston

Midwest Region
PPL Center, Allentown, PA

  1. Ohio State
  2. Denver
  3. Penn State
  4. Princeton

East Region
Webster Bank Arena, Bridgeport, CT

  1. Notre Dame
  2. Providence
  3. Clarkson
  4. Michigan Tech



Schedule & results

All times ET

Friday, March 23
No. 1 Notre Dame 4, Michigan Tech 3 (OT)
No. 4 Air Force 4, No. 1 St. Cloud State 1
No. 2 Providence 1, No. 3 Clarkson 0
No. 3 Minnesota-Duluth 3, No. 2 Minnesota State-Mankato 2 (OT)

Saturday, March 24
No. 1 Cornell 1, No. 4 Boston University 3
No. 1 Ohio State 4, No. 4 Princeton 2
No. 2 Michigan 3, No. 3 Northeastern 2
East regional final: Notre Dame 2, Providence 1
No. 2 Denver, 5 No. 3 Penn State 1
West regional final: Minnesota-Duluth 2, Air Force 1

Sunday, March 25
Northeast regional final: Michigan 6, Boston University 3
Midwest regional final: Ohio State 5, Denver 1

Frozen Four

Thursday, April 5
Minnesota-Duluth 2, Ohio State 1
Notre Dame 4, Michigan 3

Saturday, April 7
Championship game: Minnesota-Duluth 2, Notre Dame 1