clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MEAC Tournament 2013 schedule and bracket: Top seeds Norfolk State, North Carolina Central open postseason

The top-seeded Norfolk State Spartans and No. 2 North Carolina Central Eagles open their postseason play in the quarterfinals of the 2013 MEAC Tournament.


The top seeds of the MEAC regular season open their postseasons on Wednesday after taking first round byes into the quarterfinals. The No. 1 Norfolk State Spartans face the No. 8 Bethune-Cookman Wildcats on Wednesday while the No. 2 North Carolina Central Eagles play the North Carolina A&T Aggies in the nightcap.

Norfolk State, led by 6'6 wing Pendarvis Williams' 14.1 points per game, have won 15 games in a row heading into the tournament and finished the season 21-10 overall and a perfect 16-0 in MEAC play. Bethune-Cookman is only 7-9 in conference play and 13-19 on the year, yet the Wildcats can face the No. 1 team in the league with confidence.

They fell to the Spartans 62-61 less than two weeks ago, and swingman Adrien Coleman's averages of 17.9 points and 7.2 rebounds could pose a problem for the league's best team. Coleman is coming off a 28-point performance on Tuesday, when Bethune-Cookman beat Coppin State.

In the MEAC's second game of Wednesday's schedule, North Carolina Central plays a North Carolina A&T team coming off a Tuesday victory against Florida A&M.

North Carolina Central (22-8) fell short of the regular season title by one game at 15-1 in league play. Led by Jeremy Ingram's 15.9 points per game, the Eagles beat the Aggies 51-47 on Feb. 23 and 66-62 on Dec. 1.

Click here for the full 2013 MEAC Tournament bracket.

Wednesday schedule

No. 1 Norfolk State vs. No. 8 Bethune-Cookman, 6 p.m. ET

No. 2 North Carolina Central vs. No. 7 North Carolina A&T, 8 p.m. ET

More in College Basketball:

The latest Bracketology

Tracking March Madness automatic bids

Full coverage of the Big East Tournament

Richard Pitino makes his own name

Projecting the bracket with Easy Bubble Solver

Full coverage of the Big Ten Tournament