clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Tournament 2016: 1st round TV schedule and start times

How to watch every game in the NCAA Tournament's play-in and first rounds.

Kansas, North Carolina, Virginia and Oregon highlight this year's NCAA Tournament field as their regions' top seeds. The Jayhawks, Tarheels and Ducks won their respective conference tournaments, while the Cavaliers lost to UNC in the ACC Tournament final Saturday night.

64 other Big Dance bound teams join the No. 1 seeds for a shot at the Final Four in Houston. The tournament commences March 15 and 16 with the First Four round in Dayton, Ohio. The round of 64 proper then tips off March 17 and 18, and elimination rounds continue until the Final Four on April 2 and the championship game April 4.

CBS, TBS, TNT and truTV will carry the tournament this year, with truTV broadcasting the First Four round. CBS will have the Final Four and championship games exclusively. All full rundown of network television and online streaming tournament coverage can be found here.

Tuesday, March 15 (First Four)

No. 16 FGCU vs. No. 16 Fairleigh Dickinson, 6:30 p.m., truTV

No. 11 Vanderbilt vs. No. 11 Wichita State, 9 p.m., truTV

Wednesday, March 16 (First Four)

No. 16 Holy Cross vs. No. 16 Southern, 6:30 p.m., truTV

No. 11 Michigan vs. No. 11 Tulsa, 9 p.m., truTV

Thursday, March 17 (First Round)

No. 4 Duke vs. No. 13 UNCW, noon, CBS

No. 8 Texas Tech vs. No. 9 Butler, 12:30 p.m., truTV

No. 8 Colorado vs. No. 9 Connecticut, 1 p.m., TNT

No. 4 Iowa State vs. No. 14 Iona, 1:30 p.m., TBS

No. 5 Baylor vs. No. 12 Yale, 2:30 p.m., CBS

No. 1 Virginia vs. No. 16 Hampton 3 p.m., truTV

No. 1 Kansas vs. No. 16 Austin Peay, 3:50 p.m., TNT

No. 5 Purdue vs. No. 12 Arkansas-Little Rock, 4:20 p.m., TBS

No. 3 Miami vs. No. 14 Buffalo, 6:45 p.m., TNT

No. 5 Indiana vs. No. 12 Chattanooga, 7 p.m., CBS

No. 1 North Carolina vs. No. 16 FGCU/Fairleigh Dickinson winner, 7:15 p.m., TBS

No. 3 Utah vs. No. 14 Fresno State, 7:15 p.m., truTV

No. 6 Arizona vs. No. 11 Vanderbilt/Wichita State winner, 9:15 p.m., TNT

No. 4 Kentucky vs. No. 13 Stony Brook, 9:30 p.m., CBS

No. 8 USC vs. No. 9 Providence, 9:45 p.m., TBS

No. 6 Seton Hall vs. No. 11 Gonzaga, 9:55 p.m., truTV

Friday, March 18 (First Round)

No. 7 Dayton vs. No. 10 Syracuse, noon, CBS

No. 2 Villanova vs. No. 15 UNC-Asheville, 12:30 p.m., truTV

No. 7 Oregon State vs. No. 10 VCU, 1 p.m., TNT

No. 4 California vs. No. 13 Hawaii, 1:30 p.m., TBS

No. 2 Michigan State vs. No. 15 Middle Tennessee, 2:30 p.m., CBS

No. 7 Iowa vs. No. 10 Temple, 3 p.m., truTV

No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 15 CSU-Bakersfield, 3:50 p.m., TNT

No. 5 Maryland vs. No. 12 South Dakota State, 4:20 p.m., TBS

No. 7 Wisconsin vs. No. 10 Pittsburgh, 6:45 p.m., TNT

No. 3 West Virginia vs. No. 14 Stephen F. Austin, 7 p.m., CBS

No. 3 Texas A&M vs. No. 14 UW-Green Bay, 7:15 p.m., TBS

No. 1 Oregon vs. No. 16 Holy Cross/Southern winner, 7:15 p.m., truTV

No. 2 Xavier vs. No. 15 Weber State, 9:15 p.m., TNT

No. 6 Notre Dame vs. No. 11 Michigan/Tulsa winner, 9:30 p.m., CBS

No. 6 Texas vs. No. 11 Northern Iowa, 9:45 p.m., TBS

No. 8 St. Joseph's vs. No. 9 Cincinnati, 9:55 p.m., truTV

* * *

Best Tournament Player: Was it Carmelo Anthony or Christian Laettner?

Be sure to subscribe to SB Nation's YouTube channel for highlight videos, features, analysis and more