clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The new Mountain West divisions are mountainous, western

The conference's new division names will be "Mountain" and "West," because let's not get too risky here.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Mountain West Conference has experienced something of a rebirth over the past month or so, as Boise State and San Diego State have elected to stay home rather than go to the Big East. With the conference ranks back up to 12 teams, it was time to split into two divisions.

However, rather than go with the simple and efficient North/South/East/West, the MWC took a page from the Big Ten and ACC's playbook:

In terms of geographic accuracy and ease of understanding, it's better than Atlantic and Coastal, and it's a whole bunch better than Leaders and Legends (which, shhh, the Big Ten may get rid of). It's basically an east/west split, but apparently describing the divisions as such is simply too much to ask.

For the record, the Mountain West Mountain will include Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State, and Wyoming, and the Mountain West West will include Fresno State, Hawaii, Nevada, San Diego State, San Jose State, and UNLV.