clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College football playoffs rotation set through 2026

The Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl will host the first two national semifinal games in 2015, with four other bowls joining the rotation schedule that extends through 2026.

John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

The college football playoff semifinal sites have been set, Bill Hancock announced Tuesday, with the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl hosting the inaugural semifinal games on Jan. 1, 2015.

Here is the national semifinal rotation schedule, according to ESPN's Brett McMurphy:

Rose & Sugar: 2015, 2018, 2021, 2024
Orange & TBA: 2016, 2019, 2022, 2025
TBA & TBA: 2017, 2020, 2023, 2026

The Rose and Sugar will host the semifinals four times between 2015 and 2026, with the Orange Bowl and three other bowls rotating in to host in between. The three bowls have not been officially determined, but it's expected that they will be the Fiesta Bowl, Cotton Bowl, and Chick-fil-A Bowl.

The Cotton Bowl is considered a "prohibitive favorite" to host the inaugural playoff championship game, which is tentatively scheduled to be on Jan. 12, 2015. The championship game will be bid out to any city that wants to host it, and over a dozen cities have reportedly inquired about hosting already.