clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Playoff committee members on 2- to 4-season terms

Each member of the committee will get at least a couple of seasons on the job.

Tom Pennington

Each member of the College Football Playoff committee will serve between two- and four-season terms, according to Brett McMurphy of ESPN. The recently established 13-member committee will determine which four schools earn bids to the playoffs beginning next season.

Former Nebraska head coach Tom Osborne, former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese, USC athletics director Pat Haden and former Air Force superintendent Michael Gould will see their terms expire in February 2016, meaning they'll oversee the Playoffs that end the 2014 and 2015 seasons. Wisconsin AD Barry Alvarez, West Virginia AD Oliver Luck, former Ole Miss QB Archie Manning and former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice will see their terms expire the February after that.

Committee chair and Arkansas AD Jeff Long, as well as Clemson AD Dan Radakovich, former March Madness head Tom Jernstedt, former USA Today reporter Steve Wieberg and former Washington head coach Ty Willingham have terms that run through February 2018.

More from SB Nation college football:

Week 12 schedule full of big conference games

Fresno State, the disappointing BCS-buster

Bowl projections: Bama-FSU and 34 other games

Stanford, Auburn, OSU favored in next week’s big games

Long reads: Has Baylor crafted the ultimate football offense?