clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Full Heisman Trophy winners list: How Jameis Winston will fit in

New, comments

Saturday night, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston will be the new name at the top of the following list. Here is every Heisman Trophy-winner in the award's 78-year history.

Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

Also, below this list, let's take a look at how Jameis Winston compares to other quarterbacks who've won the trophy recently. He has a lot in common, but his win will also continue some interesting recent dynamics.

Year Winner School Position
2012 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M Quarterback
2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor Quarterback
2010 Cam Newton Auburn Quarterback
2009 Mark Ingram, Jr. Alabama Running back
2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma Quarterback
2007 Tim Tebow Florida Quarterback
2006 Troy Smith Ohio State Quarterback
2005 Reggie Bush (vacated) USC Running back
2004 Matt Leinart USC Quarterback
2003 Jason White Oklahoma Quarterback
2002 Carson Palmer USC Quarterback
2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska Quarterback
2000 Chris Weinke Florida State Quarterback
1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin Running back
1998 Ricky Williams Texas Running back
1997 Charles Woodson Michigan Cornerback/Punt returner
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida Quarterback
1995 Eddie George Ohio State Running back
1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado Running back
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State Quarterback
1992 Gino Torretta Miami Quarterback
1991 Desmond Howard Michigan Wide receiver
1990 Ty Detmer BYU Quarterback
1989 Andre Ware Houston Quarterback
1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State Running back
1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame Wide receiver
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami Quarterback
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn Running back
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College Quarterback
1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska Running back
1982 Herschel Walker Georgia Running back
1981 Marcus Allen USC Running back
1980 George Rogers South Carolina Running back
1979 Charles White USC Running back
1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma Running back
1977 Earl Campbell Texas Running back
1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh Running back
1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State Running back
1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State Running back
1973 John Cappelletti Penn State Running back
1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska Wide Receiver/Running back
1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn Quarterback
1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford Quarterback
1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma Fullback
1968 O. J. Simpson USC Halfback
1967 Gary Beban UCLA Quarterback
1966 Steve Spurrier Florida Quarterback
1965 Mike Garrett USC Halfback
1964 John Huarte Notre Dame Quarterback
1963 Roger Staubach Navy Quarterback
1962 Terry Baker Oregon State Quarterback
1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse Halfback/Linebacker/Fullback
1960 Joe Bellino Navy Halfback
1959 Billy Cannon LSU Halfback
1958 Pete Dawkins Army Halfback
1957 John David Crow Texas A&M Halfback
1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame Quarterback
1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State Halfback
1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin Fullback
1953 Johnny Lattner Notre Dame Halfback
1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma Halfback
1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton Halfback
1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State Halfback/Punter
1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame End
1948 Doak Walker SMU Halfback
1947 Johnny Lujack Notre Dame Quarterback
1946 Glenn Davis Army Halfback
1945 Doc Blanchard Army Fullback
1944 Les Horvath Ohio State Quarterback/Halfback
1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame Quarterback
1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia Halfback
1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota Halfback
1940 Tom Harmon Michigan Halfback
1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa Quarterback
1938 Davey O'Brien TCU Quarterback
1937 Clint Frank Yale Halfback
1936 Larry Kelley Yale End
1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago Halfback

A few recent trends Winston's victory will carry on:

Here's how Winston's numbers stack up with other recent Heisman-winning quarterbacks:


  • From a strictly statistical standpoint, Winston compares quite favorably with everyone who has come before him, and in many ways, exceeds them. He not only bests the average Heisman quarterback line, he obliterates many of the marks -- his YPA is by far the highest, and he edges out Griffin for best passer rating as well. Had it not been for Florida State blowing out every opponent, he probably could have made a run at Bradford's yardage and touchdown totals.
  • He did this with an offense that did not worry about tempo. Florida State ran 941 plays in 14 games this year, for an average of 67.2 per game. Compare that with 881 in 13 games last season, for an average of 67.76 per game. In both years, their total plays ranked outside of the top 40 nation-wide.
  • Some of these quarterbacks won the award on the basis of their rushing -- Crouch, for example, as from an option offense -- but it's not particularly fruitful to compare those numbers. It is interesting to see the progression in completion percentage, though, which is a function of increasingly efficient offenses and quarterbacks who come to college better prepared as passers.
  • As suspected, the Heisman favors the top quarterback from a top-five team, with the average winner's team ranking about fourth. The only exceptions are Tim Tebow in 2007, Robert Griffin in 2011, and Johnny Manziel in 2012.