clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2013 Heisman Trophy winner: Jameis Winston earns college football's top honor

New, comments

To no one's surprise, Florida State's quarterback was awarded the Heisman.

Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston is the 2013 Heisman Trophy winner. Try not to look so shocked! Winston came into the ceremony as a heavy favorite, and took a firm grasp of the award in the eyes of voters once Marcus Mariota and Oregon faltered.

Winston topped fellow finalists A.J. McCarron, Tre Mason, Andre Williams, Johnny Manziel and Jordan Lynch to take home the award. McCarron finished second with Lynch third, Williams fourth, Manziel fifth and Mason sixth. All of the players put up great numbers -- and Mason in particular finished strong -- but none of it was enough to close the gap between Winston and everyone else.

His season was clouded with off-field controversy, as a Tallahassee woman accused him of sexual assault in 2012. However, Florida's state attorney announced weeks ago that no charges would be filed.

Winston is the first Heisman winner from Florida State since Chris Weinke, who won in 2000. He's the second-ever redshirt freshman, after Manziel last year.

He was the favorite for good reason -- he threw for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns during the regular season, and he did so while averaging a relatively modest 26.8 passing attempts per game. He was often taken out of games early because FSU had a lot of big second-half leads, but his incredible efficiency still allowed him to put up those impressive counting stats.

Florida State now holds college football's most famous hardware, but it's not finished -- the Seminoles meet Auburn in the BCS Championship Game on Jan. 6.

More from SB Nation college football:

Interactive bowl season calendar with picks and links to more coverage:


Mack Brown is officially resigning

College football news | Nick Saban is staying at Alabama

Long CFB reads | Auburn and the future of the SEC