clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heisman Trophy 2013 voting results: Winston, McCarron, Lynch make up top 3

The full results can be found right below.

Mike Stobe

Jameis Winston made Heisman history on Saturday evening, becoming the youngest winner in the history of the award and the second consecutive redshirt freshman to receive college football's most coveted honor.

Behind him, though, were five other candidates -- Andre Williams, A.J. McCarron, Johnny Manziel, Jordan Lynch and Tre Mason. The full voting results and details of their finish:

Some other points of interest from the voting results:

  • While Winston ended up running away with the award, it is interesting to note how close the rest of the results were -- a mere 300 points separated McCarron from sixth place finisher Tre Mason, who snuck into the voting after a strong series of games down the stretch. The small margin that separated McCarron, Lynch, Williams, Manziel and Mason indicated a largely indistinctive field of candidates this season -- other than Winston, of course.
  • Winston was left off of 115 ballots entirely, yet still won by the seventh largest margin ever. His 668 first-place votes are the ninth most in Heisman history.

More from SB Nation college football:

Interactive bowl season calendar with picks and links to more coverage:


Mack Brown is officially resigning

How the Heisman was won: A look at Jameis’ year

College football news | Nick Saban is staying at Alabama

Long CFB reads | Auburn and the future of the SEC