clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jameis Winston wins the Heisman, to nobody's surpise

New, comments

The freshman became the youngest player to win the award, and the second freshman in a row to do it.

Jeff Zelevansky

Florida State redshirt freshman quarterback Jameis Winston became the youngest player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, bringing home the prestigious award Saturday night in an outcome most saw coming.

Winston finished the season averaging 10.9 yards per attempt and completing more than two-thirds of his passes for 38 touchdowns against 10 interceptions. The freshman also ran for four more touchdowns, leading the Seminoles to a perfect 12-0 season, a conference championship and a berth in the national title game.

Winston finished with a commanding lead over Alabama's A.J. McCarron. In third was Northern Illinois's Jordan Lynch, with Boston College's Andre Williams, Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel and Auburn's Tre Mason behind him. You can find the full voting results here.

Hustle Belt pointed out the historical nature of Lynch's high finish, as the quarterback from Northern Illinois is in elite MAC company.

This wasn't exactly what everybody in our community had hoped for, but it is what it is. Finishing third in this year's Heisman Trophy voting with 508 points, this is the highest a player from the Mid-American Conference has been voted for the award. Randy Moss finished fourth in the voting in 1997 and Chad Pennington finished 5th in 1999. Lynch will have one last go-round with the Huskies when they face off against Utah State (8-5) on Dec. 26 in the Poinsettia Bowl.

BC Interruption was hopeful that running back Andre Williams would finish higher in the final voting, but was ultimately pleased that he was invited to the ceremony at all.

The slightest bit of disappointment that Williams, who rushed for more yards than each of the last two Heisman Trophy-winning running backs, didn't place higher in the voting. But if we are being honest with ourselves, BC's "pensive punisher" and Doak Walker Award winner was playing with house money after making the trip to New York.

Tomahawk Nation has a variety of coverage on the award, and praised Winston's versatility and the historic nature of his freshman season.

Winston's 2013 season is not done, but it is already the best individual season for a quarterback in the history of the school. Winston has thrown 349 passes, completed 68-percent of them, for  3820 yards (10.9 yards-per-attempt), with 38 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. Oh, and he is also a threat with his legs. And he rarely played deep into the second half of games, because his offense has been so good. How good? Despite not playing in a gimmicky, pace-based attack, Florida State is on pace to score the most points in the history of college football.

Mason was the first Auburn finalist for the award not to win it, and College and Magnolia recalled his fantastic season.

Mason really only joined the conversation after his monster game in the SEC Championship, carrying the ball 46 times for 304 yards. But since that eye-opening performance, voters probably noticed just how important he was to Auburn's amazing season. He rushed for 164 yards against Alabama and gained a school record 2137 all-purpose yards for the season.

More from SB Nation college football:

Interactive bowl season calendar with picks and links to more coverage:


Mack Brown is officially resigning

How the Heisman was won: A look at Jameis’ year

College football news | Nick Saban is staying at Alabama

Long CFB reads | Auburn and the future of the SEC