clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Heisman Trophy finalists announced: 5 to join Jameis Winston

Jameis Winston heads to New York on Saturday, but he's not going alone.

Streeter Lecka

The deadline for voting on the Heisman Trophy came and went Monday, and now we know the finalists. Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston will be in New York for the ceremony, of course -- he's been the frontrunner for the award for weeks. Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Auburn running back Tre Mason, Boston College running back Andre Williams, and Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron also earned invites.

As accomplished as all of these finalists are, there shouldn't be much drama about the winner. This is Winston's trophy, and when he wins, he'll become the second consecutive freshman to take home the award. Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel won as a freshman last year.

Like Manziel, Winston became a dominant figure in the college football landscape very quickly. Considering the numbers he put up during the regular season, not to mention No. 1 FSU's undefeated run, it's easy to see why. Winston completed 67.9 percent of his throws while averaging an incredible 10.9 yards per attempt. He leads the country in passer rating, and only Fresno State's Derek Carr has more touchdown passes.

The Heisman Trophy ceremony will air live Saturday at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.

More from SB Nation college football:

Interactive bowl season calendar with picks and links to more coverage:


What the Playoff would look like, from four to 32 teams

College football news | FSU favored over Auburn by a touchdown

Long CFB reads | The night Baylor died in Stillwater