clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 College Football Hall of Fame class announced: Tommie Frazier, Orlando Pace headline

The 2013 College Football Hall of Fame class was announced Tuesday. And for once, we can't complain about Tommie Frazier not making it in. We can still complain about Howard Schnellenberger, though.


The 2013 College Football Hall of Fame induction class was announced Tuesday, headlined by the long-delayed induction of Nebraska quarterback Tommie Frazier. The full class, via the National Football Foundation:

· TED BROWN - TB, North Carolina State (1975-78)
· TEDY BRUSCHI - DE, Arizona (1992-95)
· RON DAYNE - RB, Wisconsin (1996-99)
· TOMMIE FRAZIER - QB, Nebraska (1992-95)
· JERRY GRAY - DB, Texas (1981-84)
· STEVE MEILINGER* - E, Kentucky (1951-53)
· ORLANDO PACE - OT, Ohio State (1994-96)
· ROD SHOATE (deceased) - LB, Oklahoma (1972-74)
· PERCY SNOW - LB, Michigan State (1986-89)
· VINNY TESTAVERDE - QB, Miami, Fla. (1982, 1984-86)
· DON TRULL - QB, Baylor (1961-63)
· DANNY WUERFFEL - QB, Florida (1993-96)
* Selection from the FBS Veterans Committee

· WAYNE HARDIN - 118-74-5 (61.2%); Navy (1959-64) and Temple (1970-82)
· BILL McCARTNEY - 93-55-5 (62.4%); Colorado (1982-94)

They'll be officially enshrined December 10.

Notre Dame, Michigan, USC, Ohio State, and Army/Pitt still have the most inductees.

The College Football Hall of Fame, which was located in South Bend, Ind., but will soon move to Atlanta, has been open since 1951. Players must have received First Team All-American honors to receive consideration (so no Drew Brees or Joe Montana), for which they are eligible 10 years after their last season in college, or, if still active professionally after 10 years, after their retirement. Coaches must have a .600 or better winning percentage over 100 games (so no Howard Schnellenberger) and have been head coaches for 10 years (so no Erk Russell), and are eligible for induction three years after their retirement unless they are over the age of 70, in which case it could be shorter. Exceptions may be made in special cases. There were 918 inductees before Tuesday's announcement.

More from SB Nation:

Tommie Frazier finally makes College Football Hall of Fame

SB Nation spends NFL Draft night with a first-rounder’s agent

Everything you should know about the SEC Network

The state of the spread: SB Nation with Ole Miss and Mississippi State

National recruiting coverage

Today’s college football news headlines