clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College football's best running backs, per the 2013 Walker Award list

The Doak Walker Award watch list includes plenty of familiar names.


The watch list for the 2013 Doak Walker Award was released Thursday morning. The Walker Award, started in 1989, is presented annually to the nation's best running back as determined by a selection committee of sportswriters and legendary running backs. The Award committee requires that the recipient be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

This year's Walker watch list is highlighted by Oregon's De'Anthony Thomas, Alabama's T.J. Yeldon, and Baylor's Lache Seastrunk. Also included are Arizona junior Ka'Deem Carey, Nebraska junior Ameer Abdullah, Georgia sophomore Todd Gurley, and Northwestern senior Venric Mark.

Texas holds the record for most Doak Walker Award wins with three: Ricky Williams won in 1997 and 1998, and Cedric Benson took the award in 2004. Arkansas' Darren McFadden is the only other two-time winner, taking home the hardware in 2006 and 2007. Wisconsin's Montee Ball won the 2012 Doak Walker Award, the second win for the Badgers (Ron Dayne also won in 1999).

Other recent recipients include Alabama's Trent Richardson, Oregon's LaMichael James, Stanford's Toby Gerhart, and Iowa's Shonn Greene.

Here's the full list:

Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
Michael Alisa, BYU
Antonio Andrews, Western Kentucky
Dri Archer, Kent State
Brendan Bigelow, California
Beau Blankenship, Ohio
Alfred Blue, LSU
Dominique Brown, Louisville
Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona
B.J. Catalon, TCU
Orleans Darkwa, Tulane
Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech
Trayion Durham, Kent State
Jahwan Edwards, Ball State
David Fluellen, Toledo
D.J. Foster, Arizona State
Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
Marion Grice, Arizona State
Todd Gurley, Georgia
Joe Hill, Utah State
John Hubert, Kansas State
Carlos Hyde, Ohio State
Waymon James, TCU
Duke Johnson, Miami
Storm Johnson, UCF
Matt Jones, Florida
Henry Josey, Missouri
Ben Malena, Texas A&M
Raymond Maples, Army
Venric Mark, Northwestern
Keith Marshall, Georgia
Glasco Martin, Baylor
Tre Mason, Auburn
Lyle McCombs, Connecticut
Adam Muema, San Diego State
David Oku, Arkansas State
Branden Oliver, Buffalo
Jordan Parker, Middle Tennessee
LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
Senorise Perry, Louisville
Christian Powell, Colorado
Darrin Reaves, UAB
Silas Redd, USC
Bishop Sankey, Washington
Lache Seastrunk, Baylor
David Sims, Georgia Tech
James Sims, Kansas
Kiero Small, Arkansas
Jeremy Smith, Oklahoma State
Jerome Smith, Syracuse
De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon
Zurlon Tipton, Central Michigan
Trey Watts, Tulsa
Mark Weisman, Iowa
James White, Iowa State
James White, Wisconsin
Andre Williams, Boston College
Damien Williams, Oklahoma
Jamaal Williams, BYU
Jonathan Williams, Arkansas
Storm Woods, Oregon State
T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
Zach Zwinak, Penn State

More from SB Nation:

Loads of SEC Media Days coverage, live from Hoover

NCAA drops EA Sports association: Series future in doubt?

Projecting every 2013 college football conference race

Bill Connelly’s Pac-12 team preview series is underway

National recruiting coverage

Today’s college football news headlines