clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Who's college football's best player? The 2013 Walter Camp list

Our last watch list of watch list season is the Walter Camp, one of several trophies for the best player in football. Johnny Manziel is back after seeing Manti Te'o take the honors last year, as is 2012 finalist Marqise Lee.

Ronald Martinez

The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award watch list was released Friday, highlighted by some of college football's biggest stars. The Walter Camp Award is given to college football's best player, as determined by Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

The 2013 list is headed by two 2012 finalists: Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and USC wide receiver Marqise Lee. Louisville quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, and Oregon running back De'Anthony Thomas are also favorites for the award.

Here's the full list:

Ameer Abdullah, RB, Nebraska

Antonio Andrews, RB, Western Kentucky

Dri Archer, RB, Kent State

Tajh Boyd, QB, Clemson

Teddy Bridgewater, QB, Louisville

Kolton Browning, QB, Louisiana Monroe

Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA

Ka'Deem Carey, RB, Arizona

Derek Carr, QB, Fresno State

Rakeem Cato, QB, Marshall

Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina

Amari Cooper, WR, Alabama

David Fluellen, RB, Toledo

Phillip Gaines, DB, Rice

Todd Gurley, RB, Georgia

John Hubert, RB, Kansas State

Jackson Jeffcoat, DE, Texas

Duke Johnson, RB, Miami Fla.

Chuckie Keeton, QB, Utah State

Marqise Lee, WR, USC

Taylor Lewan, OT, Michigan

Jordan Lynch, QB, Northern Illinois

Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M

Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon

Jake Matthews, OT, Texas A&M

Jordan Matthews, WR, Vanderbilt

Venric Mark, RB, Northwestern

Taylor Martinez, QB, Nebraska

AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama

Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama

Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia

Louis Nix III, DE, Notre Dame

Casey Pachall, QB, TCU

Keith Price, QB, Washington

Silas Redd, RB, USC

Bradley Roby, DB, Ohio State

Tyler Russell, QB, Mississippi State

Bishop Sankey, RB, Washington

Lache Seastrunk, RB, Baylor

Yawin Smallwood, LB, Connecticut

Will Sutton, DT, Arizona State

Tyler Tettleton, QB, Ohio

De'Anthony Thomas, RB, Oregon

Logan Thomas, QB, Virginia Tech

Stephon Tuitt, DE, Notre Dame

Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU

Jason Verrett, DB, TCU

Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson

T.J. Yeldon, RB, Alabama

The Walter Camp Award has been given out annually since 1967. Much like its more famous counterpart, the Heisman Trophy, it has gone almost exclusively to quarterbacks and running backs; only eight times has the Walter Camp gone to a player outside the offensive backfield. The USC Trojans have won the Walter Camp Award six times, while Ohio State and Notre Dame have taken home the Walter Camp four times apiece.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o became the third defensive player to win the award last year. Other recent winners include Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, Auburn quarterback Cam Newton, Texas quarterback Colt McCoy (who won the award in 2008 and 2009), and Arkansas running back Darren McFadden.

More from SB Nation:

Loads of SEC Media Days coverage, live from Hoover

NCAA drops EA Sports association: Series future in doubt?

Projecting every 2013 college football conference race

Bill Connelly’s Pac-12 team preview series is underway

National recruiting coverage

Today’s college football news headlines