clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Playoff bowls to be part of 'New Year's Six'

Bill Hancock is fixing problems.

Chris Graythen

The six bowls that will be in the College Football Playoff semifinal rotation will be known as the "New Year's Six," according to executive director Bill Hancock. Those six bowls are the Rose Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Cotton Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Orange Bowl, and Chick-fil-A Bowl, and will serve in a rotation where each site will host a semifinal game every three years.

I guess that clears up a bit of an issue, since "New Year's Six" is more accurate than calling them BCS bowls. Since, you know, the BCS will be gone.

Hancock also said that the famous crystal football, which was awarded to the BCS champions, will be discontinued, and the College Football Playoff will have a new trophy when it starts in 2014. I don't believe the crystal ball had anything written or engraved on it that would connect it to the BCS other than its trophy stand, so I'm not sure why it needs to be replaced. A marketing professional probably told them they needed a clean break from the previous system to help establish their #brand.

More from SB Nation:

•SB Nation’s media days coverage, live from the scene: ACC | Big 12 | SEC

That young Ohio State fan who named his cancer "Michigan?" Brady Hoke’s taking him to Ohio State-Michigan

Florida player shouldn’t have been arrested for barking at dog, says sheriff

Projecting every 2013 college football conference race

National recruiting coverage

Today’s college football news headlines