clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013's best college football tight ends: The Mackey watch list

Since 2000, the Mackey Award has aimed to honor the nation's top college football tight end.


The 2013 John Mackey Award watch list was released Tuesday. Here it is in full, via the Mackey people:


Last year's recipient, Notre Dame tight end Tyler Eifert, has moved on to the NFL, leaving the Mackey chase wide open. Washington tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins, a 2012 Mackey finalist, returns for his junior season, but has been suspended indefinitely due to a DUI arrest over the offseason. All seven other semifinalists from 2012 have left college football. Keep an eye on Arizona State senior Chris Coyle, North Carolina junior Eric Ebron, and Iowa senior C.J. Fiedorowicz.

No program has ever won two Mackey Awards. Former recipients have included Clemson's Dwayne Allen, Arkansas' D.J. Williams, and Florida's Aaron Hernandez.

The award is presented by the Friends of John Mackey and voted upon by members of the sports media and former NFL players.

More from SB Nation:

The NFL considers a stupid NCAA idea (but we repeat ourselves)

Tons of top recruit interviews from SB Nation at The Opening

Bill Connelly’s Pac-12 team preview series is underway

Preseason All-America team led by Jadeveon Clowney, Johnny Manziel

National recruiting coverage

Today’s college football news headlines