clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 College Football Hall of Fame class includes Derrick Thomas, Sterling Sharpe

We might be in the depths of the college football offseason, but May still gives us an event: the College Football Hall of Fame announced its 2014 class Thursday.

Mockup of the new Hall's entrance in Atlanta.
Mockup of the new Hall's entrance in Atlanta.
College Football Hall of Fame

The 2014 College Football Hall of Fame class:

  • Oregon, Chico State coach Mike Bellotti
  • North Carolina cornerback Dré Bly
  • USC offensive tackle Tony Boselli
  • Purdue defensive tackle Dave Butz
  • Penn State linebacker Shane Conlan
  • Georgia Tech quarterback Joe Hamilton
  • Maine linebacker John Huard
  • Appalachian State, Texas Tech, North Texas coach Jerry Moore
  • Stanford running back Darrin Nelson
  • Louisiana Tech offensive lineman Willie Roaf
  • UCLA quarterback John Sciarra
  • South Carolina wide receiver Sterling Sharpe
  • McNeese State cornerback Leonard Smith
  • Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas
  • TCU running back LaDainian Tomlinson
  • Ole Miss tight end Wesley Walls

This year's nominee list was long -- dozens deep, as a matter of fact.

This hall of fame is different from the pro version, as it has some pretty ridiculous eligibility rules. For example, players must have been voted first-team All-Americans at least once (eliminating college greats like Purdue's Drew Brees and Notre Dame's Joe Montana, among others), coaches must have had a winning percentage of 60 or better and been a head coach for 10 or more years (which rules out Howard Schnellenberger, Erk Russell, and other successful program-builders), and players and coaches must be "good citizens" -- whatever that means.

The organization has a history of notable snubs, finally inducting Nebraska QB Tommie Frazier last year, with new inductee Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas considered another long-neglected deserving name.

The physical Hall of Fame is in the process of moving from South Bend, Indiana to Atlanta, with its opening set for later this year.

Frazier joined NC State RB Ted Brown, Arizona DE Tedy Bruschi, Wisconsin RB Ron Dayne, Texas DB Jerry Gray, Kentucky DE Steve Meilinger, Ohio State OT Orlando Pace, Oklahoma LB Rod Shoate, Michigan State LB Percy Snow, Miami QB Vinny Testaverde, Baylor QB Don Trull, Florida QB Danny Wuerffel, and coaches Wayne Hardin and Bill McCartney as inductees in the 2013 class.