clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Nebraska upset Michigan State on this maybe legal, maybe illegal game-winning TD

New, comments

This was a close one.

Nebraska beat Michigan State, 39-38, on a last-minute touchdown catch in which receiver Brandon Reilly went out of bounds and came back in to catch the ball. Usually, it is illegal to touch the ball after going out of bounds.

However, the officials ruled that the receiver was forced out of bounds, so it was a legal catch. And since replay officials aren't allowed to review whether the receiver was actually forced out or not, the touchdown stood.

The rule is that the receiver can come back in to catch the ball as long as he "immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent, which includes contact with the defender."

Was this contact that forced him out? Well, you be the judge.

Here's the view from the skycam, via ABC.

* * *

SB Nation presents: Alabama and Clemson wins highlight Week 10