clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota holder Peter Mortell declares himself 'Holder of the Year'

The Big Ten has an award for everyone. Well, ALMOST everyone.

Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

The Big Ten gives out awards for everything. Not only does the conference crown an offensive and defensive player of the year, but it also hands out awards at almost every conceivable position. Earlier this year, the conference added a "Returner of the Year" award to its awards for kickers and punters, covering every base on special teams.

Well, almost every base. There is one significant position still not honored. Minnesota punter and placekick holder Peter Mortell stepped in to fill the one small void by naming himself "Holder of the Year":

With the help of kicker Ryan Santoso, Mortell's holds went 30/30 on extra point attempts and 15/19 on field goals, including a long of 50 yards. It was truly a special season.