clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heisman Trophy 2015 announcement show time and TV schedule

College football's biggest individual award is going to be handed out Saturday. Here's how to see it.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

(Update: Alabama's Derrick Henry won)

One of three deserving nominees will leave New York's Playstation Theater Saturday with college football's most prestigious individual award: The Heisman Trophy. Television coverage of the 2015 Heisman Trophy presentation begins at 8 p.m. ET Saturday, Dec. 12, on ESPN.

Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Stanford running back Christian McCaffery and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson were announced as finalists for the Heisman Trophy on Monday. Henry has long been considered the favorite for the Heisman, but support for McCaffery has increased in recent weeks. The Stanford halfback currently leads ESPN's Heisman Watch poll.

Henry would be the first winner from Alabama since Mark Ingram in 2009, and just the second Heisman recipient in the Crimson Tide's history. Ingram was also the last non-quarterback to win the Heisman, giving both Henry and McCaffery a chance to break the long string of quarterbacks. McCaffery would be Stanford's first winner since Jim Plunkett in 1970. Watson would be the first winner ever from Clemson.

ESPN's broadcast of the ceremony is scheduled for 90 minutes. It will be hosted by former College GameDay host Chris Fowler.

* * *

SB Nation presents: Watch the presentation of the Piesman Trophy