clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

These 12 cities could bid for College Football Playoff title games

The first title game was held in Arlington in January, with the next two scheduled to take place in Glendale (Ariz.) and Tampa.

Atlanta Falcons

Seven cities have decided to bid for the 2018, 2019 or 2020 College Football Playoff championship games, while at least five more remain undecided, ESPN's Brett McMurphy is reporting. Atlanta and Santa Clara (Calif.) were previously reported possible sites, while Charlotte, Jacksonville (Fla.), Miami, Minneapolis and San Antonio have also decided to bid.

McMurphy reports more cities are still deciding whether or not to bid. Arlington (Texas), Houston, Indianapolis, New Orleans and Pasadena (Calif.) could still make bids. New York/New Jersey and Orlando will not, after previously considering it.

The semifinal locations have already been set for the three years.

  • 2018: Rose Bowl (Pasadena, Calif.), Sugar Bowl (New Orleans)
  • 2019: Cotton Bowl (Dallas), Orange Bowl (Miami)
  • 2020: Peach Bowl (Atlanta), Fiesta Bowl (Glendale, Ariz.)

Miami will bid on the 2018 and 2020 games due to the 2019 semifinal date, McMurphy reports, while Minneapolis will bid in 2019 and 2020 with a new stadium. Atlanta will also have a new stadium by the time these championship games roll around.