clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

75-year college football All-America Team led by 6 Nebraska players

This is cool, and there's a lot to argue about.

The Football Writers Association of America has released its 75-year All-America Team. Surely everyone will agree on all of it!

Most debate will probably focus on quarterback and running back. Even in just the past decade or so, I'm not sure I'd take Tim Tebow over Vince Young, Cam Newton, or Marcus Mariota, and putting Archie Griffin over Barry Sanders seems to lend Heisman Trophies a bit more value than they should have (Griffin is the only player to ever win two). What are our thoughts otherwise?

The full roster, via the FWAA:


First team Second team Third team
QB Roger Staubach, Navy Tim Tebow, Florida Tommie Frazier, Nebraska
RB Archie Griffin, Ohio State Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh Bo Jackson, Auburn
RB Herschel Walker, Georgia Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State Doak Walker, SMU
WR Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh Fred Biletnikoff, Florida State Anthony Carter, Michigan
WR Jerry Rice, Mississippi Valley State Randy Moss, Marshall Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech
TE Keith Jackson, Oklahoma Mike Ditka, Pittsburgh Gordon Hudson, BYU
OL John Hannah, Alabama Bill Fralic, Pittsburgh Barrett Jones, Alabama
OL Orlando Pace, Ohio State John Hicks, Ohio State Willie Roaf, Louisiana Tech
OL Will Shields, Nebraska Calvin Jones, Iowa Jerry Sisemore, Texas
OL Ron Yary, USC Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Dean Steinkuhler, Nebraska
C Dave Rimington, Nebraska Chuck Bednarik, Penn Jim Ritcher, NC State

First team Second team Third team
DT Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma Merlin Olsen, Utah State Steve Emtman, Washington
DT Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska Randy White, Maryland Reggie White, Tennessee
DE Leon Hart, Notre Dame Hugh Green, Pittsburgh Bubba Smith, Michigan State
DE Ted Hendricks, Miami Bruce Smith, Virginia Tech Jack Youngblood, Florida
LB Tommy Nobis, Texas Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma Jack Ham, Penn State
LB Mike Singletary, Baylor Dick Butkus, Illinois Lee Roy Jordan, Alabama
LB Derrick Thomas, Alabama Luke Kuechly, Boston College Chris Spielman, Ohio State
DB Ronnie Lott, USC Champ Bailey, Georgia Dré Bly, North Carolina
DB Deion Sanders, Florida State Kenny Easley, UCLA Dave Brown, Michigan
DB Jack Tatum, Ohio State Jerry Gray, Texas Troy Polamalu, USC
DB Charles Woodson, Michigan Ed Reed, Miami Roy Williams, Oklahoma
Special teams

First team Second team Third team
P Ray Guy, Southern Miss Russell Erxleben, Texas Rohn Stark, Florida State
K Kevin Butler, Georgia Mason Crosby, Colorado Tony Franklin, Texas A&M
RS Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame Derek Abney, Kentucky

The leaders by school, per the FWAA:

  • Nebraska: six
  • Ohio State, Pittsburgh: five
  • Alabama, Oklahoma, Texas: four
  • Florida State, Georgia, Michigan, USC: three
  • Florida, Miami, Notre Dame, UCLA: two
And by current conference (Roger Staubach, AAC legend):
  • Big Ten: 19
  • ACC: 15
  • SEC: 13
  • Big 12: 10
  • Pac-12: seven
  • Conference USA, Independents: three
  • American: two


Get all kinds of college football stories, rumors, game coverage, and Jim Harbaugh oddity in your inbox every day.