clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The all-time Heisman Trophy winners list, with Baker Mayfield as its most recent addition

Here’s every player who’s won college football’s most prestigious individual award.

Big 12 Championship - Oklahoma v TCU Photo by Ron Jenkins/Getty Images

The 83nd Heisman Trophy just went out to Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield. He’s joined in New York City by 2016 winner Lamar Jackson of Louisville and Bryce Love of Stanford.

Mayfield had an all-time great passing season and has developed into a master of the air raid offense. He’s led the Sooners to a College Football Playoff semifinal in the Rose Bowl against Georgia. Some voters were turned off by his behavior before and after the whistle, which includes a NSFW dustup with Kansas that led to a two-play suspension against West Virginia. Still, Mayfield was the deserving choice this year.

Here’s the group he joins:

Heisman Trophy winners list

Year Team Team Position
Year Team Team Position
1997 Charles Woodson Michigan CB/PR
1945 Doc Blanchard Army FB
1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin FB
1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma FB
1938 Davey O'Brien TCU QB
1947 Johnny Lujack Notre Dame QB
1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame QB
1962 Terry Baker Oregon State QB
1963 Roger Staubach Navy QB
1964 John Huarte Notre Dame QB
1966 Steve Spurrier Florida QB
1967 Gary Beban UCLA QB
1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford QB
1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn QB
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College QB
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami QB
1989 Andre Ware Houston QB
1990 Ty Detmer BYU QB
1992 Gino Torretta Miami QB
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State QB
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida QB
2000 Chris Weinke Florida State QB
2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska QB
2002 Carson Palmer USC QB
2003 Jason White Oklahoma QB
2004 Matt Leinart USC QB
2006 Troy Smith Ohio State QB
2007 Tim Tebow Florida QB
2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma QB
2010 Cam Newton Auburn QB
2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor QB
2012 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M QB
2013 Jameis Winston Florida State QB
2014 Marcus Mariota Oregon QB
2016 Lamar Jackson Louisville QB
2017 Baker Mayfield Oklahoma QB
1944 Les Horvath Ohio State QB/RB
1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago RB
1937 Clint Frank Yale RB
1940 Tom Harmon Michigan RB
1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota RB
1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia RB
1946 Glenn Davis Army RB
1948 Doak Walker SMU RB
1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton RB
1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma RB
1953 Johnny Lattner Notre Dame RB
1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State RB
1957 John David Crow Texas A&M RB
1958 Pete Dawkins Army RB
1959 Billy Cannon LSU RB
1960 Joe Bellino Navy RB
1965 Mike Garrett USC RB
1968 O.J. Simpson USC RB
1973 John Cappaletti Penn State RB
1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State RB
1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State RB
1976 Tony Dorsett Pitt RB
1977 Earl Campbell Texas RB
1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma RB
1979 Charles White USC RB
1980 George Rogers South Carolina RB
1981 Marcus Allen USC RB
1982 Herschel Walker Georgia RB
1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska RB
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn RB
1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State RB
1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado RB
1995 Eddie George Ohio State RB
1998 Ricky Williams Texas RB
1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin RB
2005 Reggie Bush USC RB
2009 Mark Ingram, Jr. Alabama RB
2015 Derrick Henry Alabama RB
1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse RB/LB/FB
1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State RB/P
1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa RB/QB
1936 Larry Kelley Yale TE/DE
1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame TE/DE
1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame WR
1991 Desmond Howard Michigan WR/PR
1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska WR/RB

The teams with multiple winners:

  • Notre Dame, Ohio State, and USC: 7 each (USC RB Reggie Bush’s was stripped by the NCAA, but it still happened)
  • Oklahoma: 6
  • Army, Auburn, Florida, Florida State, Michigan, Nebraska: 3
  • Alabama, Georgia, Miami, Navy, Texas, Texas A&M, Wisconsin, Yale: 2

The award is (unofficially) for quarterbacks and running backs only, despite allegedly being an all-positions award.

With Mayfield officially joining, we’re up to:

  • 42 winners who played running back or fullback
  • 34 who played QB
  • 8 who played other positions

(There’s some overlap among those positions.)

Fun fact: Jay Berwanger, the first-ever Heisman winner, was also the first-ever NFL Draft pick.

He declined the NFL.