clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The College Football Hall of Fame’s 2019 ballot is out. Who should make it in?

New, comments

Vince Young, Darren McFadden, Ray Lewis, and several other big names are on the ballot.

NCAA Football: CFP National Championship-Features Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

The 2019 College Football Hall of Fame ballot was released on Monday featuring 76 former players and coaches. Former Texas quarterback Vince Young is on it, as is Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, Pro Football Hall of Famer Ray Lewis, Nebraska QB Eric Crouch, and USC QB Carson Palmer.

Last year’s inductees included Frank Beamer, Mack Brown, Ed Reed, former Georgia Tech WR Calvin Johnson, and Michigan’s Charles Woodson.

Here’s a full list of the players and coaches on this year’s ballot.

National Football Foundation
National Football Foundation

Other notables include current Carolina Panthers head coach Ron Rivera, Tony Gonzalez, and Jake Plummer.

“The Hall’s requirement of being a first-team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible,” National Football Foundation Steve Hatchell said in the official release. “Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and those actually elected to the class will be part of a momentous year as we celebrate the 150th anniversary of college football in 2019.”

So, who do you think should be in the 2019 class?

If I had to pick, I’d go with Young, McFadden, Lomas Brown (I went to Florid), David Pollack, and Tony Gonzalez.

This is Young’s first time on the CFB HOF ballot. He had one of the best performances from a quarterback we had ever seen in the 2005 national title against USC. A refresher from that game — Young’s scramble for the game-winning touchdown on a fourth-and-5 in the last minute from the USC nine-yard line is legendary.

Oh yeah, and his casual stat line:

  • 30 of 40 passing for 267 yards, with no touchdowns or picks
  • 200 rushing yards on 19 carries (10.5 average) and three scores

Young’s 467 yards from scrimmage were a Rose Bowl record until USC’s Sam Darnold got 473 in a similarly bonkers (though not a national title) Rose Bowl in 2017.

McFadden’s legacy at Arkansas was sealed with his upset performance against LSU in 2007. Playing from the Razorbacks’ “wild hog” formation, he was a threat all over the field, and had 206 yards rushing and three touchdowns, and a passing touchdown. A lot of people, including his head coach Houston Nutt, made the case for McFadden’s Heisman candidacy after the game.

As for Pollack, he was a menace on the defensive line for Georgia in the early 2000s. One of his more memorable plays was this interception he walked back into the end zone against South Carolina in 2002:

The announcement of the 2019 class will be made Monday, Jan. 7, 2019, in Santa Clara, California before the CFP national championship. Santa Clara is hosting the title game this year at Levi’s Stadium.

Have any suggestions on who you’d like to see inducted?

Drop them in the comments below.