clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Tour de France results and standings, Stage 9: Chris Froome keeps yellow jersey despite BMC's team time trial win

BMC won the team time trial, but Froome's Team Sky was good enough to keep him in yellow.

The Maillot Jaune is staying with Chris Froome after a thrilling team time trial in Stage 9 of the Tour De France. The BMC team, led by American Tejay van Garderen, won the time trial by one second over Froome's Team Sky. Froome gave up just that one second, and leads Van Garderen by 12 seconds in the overall standings.

It was an incredibly tight race through a gentle, up-and-down 28-kilometer course. The top three teams were separated by only four seconds. BMC won in 32:15 and Team Sky finished in 32:16, while the Movistar team — led by Nairo Quintana — was just four seconds back in 32:19. Alberto Contador and his Tinkoff-Saxo team were fourth in 32:43, costing him some time in the overall standings.

Both Team Sky and Movistar faced scary moments in the team time trial, where the team must finish as a pack. Team Sky had to wait for Nicolas Roche in the final stretch of the race — his legs buckled, slowing the group and perhaps costing them the stage win. For Movistar, Quintana pulled away from his teammates nearing the 20-kilometer mark, but they were able to regroup and finish with the third-fastest time of the day.

Monday will be a day of rest for the racers, but the climbs of Stages 10, 11 and 12 loom.

Stage 9 results

Team Time Gap
BMC Racing 32:15
Team Sky 32:16 :01
Movistar 32:19 :04
Tinkoff-Saxo 32:43 :28
Astana Pro Team 32:50 :35

General classification (yellow jersey) standings

Name Team Time Gap
Christopher Froome Sky 31:34:12
Tejay van Garderen BMC 31:34:24 :12
Greg van Avermaet BMC 31:34:39 :27
Peter Sagan Tinkoff-Saxo 31:34:50 :38
Alberto Contador Tinkoff-Saxo 31:35:15 1:03
Rigoberto Uran Uran Etixx-Quick Step 31:35:30 1:18
Alejandro Valverde Movistar 31:36:02 1:50
Geraint Thomas Sky 31:36:04 1:52
Nairo Quintana Movistar
31:36:11 1:59
Zdenek Stybar Etixx-Quick Step 31:36:11 1:59

General classification favorites

Overall rank Team Name Time Gap
1 Sky Christopher Froome 31:34:12
3 BMC Tejay van Garderen 31:34:24 :12
4 Tinkoff-Saxo Alberto Contador 31:35:15 1:03
5 Movistar Naira Quintana 31:36:11 1:59
13 Astana Vinzeno Nibali 31:36:34 2:22

Points (green jersey) standings

Name Team Points
Peter Sagan Tinkoff-Saxo 213
Andre Greipel Lotto-Soudal 210
Mark Cavendish Etixx-Quick Step 159
John Degenkolb Giant-Alpecin 158
Bryan Coquard Europcar 102

King of the Mountains (polka dot jersey) standings

Name Team Points
Daniel Teklehaimanot MTN-Qhubeka 4
Alexis Vuillermoz AG2R 2
Joaquim Rodriguez Katusha 2
Michael Schar BMC 1
Romain Sicard Europcar 1
Rafal Majka Tinkoff-Saxo 1
Thomas De Gendt Lotto-Soudal 1
Chris Froome Sky 1
Dan Martin Cannondale-Garmin 1