clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Tour de France results and standings, Stage 21: Chris Froome clinches win as André Greipel takes stage

Froome won his second Tour de France title in three years.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Chris Froome won the 2015 Tour de France, his second title in three years, as André Greipel won Stage 21 in a sprint finish on Sunday.

The final stage of the Tour de France is more a celebration than anything else, and Sunday proved no different. Froome and his Team Sky teammates enjoyed their ride through the rain to the Champs-Elysées, even finding time to sip champagne en route. The final time check came at the first crossing of the finish line at the Champs-Elysées, 41 kilometers into the stage, meaning no time gaps were recorded once the final sprint began.

Greipel won the sprint, pulling away from Bryan Coquard in a thrilling finish after the 109.5-kilometer ride from Sèvres to Paris. It was his TK stage win of his career.

Prior to the race, a car attempted to drive through barricades blocking off the course. Police opened fire on the vehicle but the driver and passengers escaped. The manhunt continued as the Stage 21 unfolded. The driver had yet to be apprehended at the conclusion of the Tour de France, according to The Telegraph.

The day, however, belonged to Froome. His second title was well deserved after a hard-fought battle with seasoned, talented riders like Nairo Quintana and Alberto Contador. Froome is making a name for himself as one of the best riders of his generation.

Stage 21 results

Name Team Time Gap
André Greipel Lotto-Soudal 2:49:41
Bryan Coquard Europcar " :00
Alexander Kristoff Katusha " "
Edvald Boasson Hagen Mtn-Qhubeka " "
Arnaud Demare FDJ " "
Mark Cavendish Etixx-Quick Step " "
Peter Sagan Tinkoff-Saxo " "
John Degenkolb Giant-Alpecin " "
Michael Matthews Orica Greenedge " "
Ramunas Navardauskas Cannondale-Garmin " "

General classification (yellow jersey) standings

Name Team Time Gap
Christopher Froome Sky 84:46:14
Nairo Quintana Movistar 84:47:26 1:12
Alejandro Valverde Movistar 84:51:39 5:25
Vincenzo Nibali Astana 84:54:50 8:36
Alberto Contador Tinkoff-Saxo 84:56:02 9:48
Robert Gesink Lotto NL-Jumbo 84:57:01 10:47
Mathias Frank IAM Cycling 85:01:28 15:14
Bauke Mollema Trek Factory Racing 85:01:53 15:39
Romain Bardet AG2R La Mondiale 85:02:14 16:00
Pierre Rolland Europcar 85:03:44 17:30

Points (green jersey) standings

Name Team Points
Peter Sagan Tinkoff-Saxo 432
Andre Greipel Lotto-Soudal 366
John Degenkolb Giant-Alpecin 298
Mark Cavendish Etixx-Quick Step 206
Bryan Coquard Europcar 152

King of the Mountains (polka dot jersey) standings

Name Team Points
Christopher Froome Sky 119
Nairo Quintana Movistar 108
Romain Bardet AG2R La Mondiale 90
Thibaut Pinot FDJ 82
Joaquim Rodriguez Katusha 78