clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Formula 1 2016: Qualifying results for Mexican Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton has his 10th pole of the season for the Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton has his tenth pole position of the season after once again besting teammate and Drivers' Championship leader Nico Rosberg in qualifying. Hamilton, the runner-up in the Drivers' Championship, will try and make it two race wins in a row when the Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix gets underway on Sunday.

Once again, the second row is made up of Red Bull drivers Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo, in that order, while Nico Hulkenberg continued Force India's excellent run by lining his car in fifth place on the grid. He's ahead of both Ferrari drivers, Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen.

Red Bull continues to make gains on Ferrari, the only manufacturer that looked like they might take it to Mercedes this year. Instead, Mercedes has once again run away with the Constructor's Championship and it's Red Bull who have been pushing them in recent races.

Of course, "pushing them" simply means challenging them at the start of the race and forcing them to be mindful of pit strategy, as the Mercedes car is still quite a bit better overall.

After Raikkonen and Vettel, in that order, the top 10 is rounded out by the Williams cars of Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa and the Toro Rosso of Carlos Sainz just inside the points at 10th on the grid.

Hamilton took pole with a lap time of 1:18.704, a time he set on his first run in the third qualifying session. He was unable to beat his own time the second time out, but he still edged out Rosberg, who posted a time of 1:18.958. Nobody else broke the 1:18 barrier, with everyone but Massa and Sainz (1:20) being in the 1:19 range.

Rosberg was behind the Red Bulls until his final run, which proved enough to jump them but not enough to best his teammate.

The full qualifying results are below:

Position Driver Team Lap time
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:18.704
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:18.958
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:19.054
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:19.133
5 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:19.330
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:19.376
7 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:19.381
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:19.551
9 Felipe Massa Williams 1:20.032
10 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:20.378
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:20.282
12 Sergio Pérez Force India 1:20.287
13 Jenson Button McLaren 1:20.673
14 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1:21.131
15 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:21.536
16 Pascal Wehrlein Manor 1:21.785
17 Esteban Gutierrez Haas 1:21.401
18 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:21.454
19 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:21.692
20 Esteban Ocon Manor 1:21.881
21 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:21.916
22 Jolyon Palmer Renault No time