clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Formula 1 2016 results: Lewis Hamilton wins Mexican Grand Prix, plus full finishing order

It was a routine win for Hamilton, who stays alive in the Drivers' Championship. Meanwhile, behind the leaders, there was a ton of controversy involving Max Verstappen of Red Bull and Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari.

Mark Thompson/Getty Images

Lewis Hamilton went from pole position to race winner for the Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, and by doing so he stays alive in the Drivers' Championship. His teammate at Mercedes, Nico Rosberg, finished in second, though his lead in the championship was cut to 19 points.

Rosberg could have clinched the championship for himself if he won, but Hamilton kept himself in it.

There was some significant controversy in the final laps when Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel put the pressure on Max Verstappen of Red Bull for the final podium spot. Trying to hold Vettel off, Verstappen over-braked heavily and found himself going wide off the track.

Eventually, Verstappen rejoined the track ahead of Vettel, and many felt he needed to give up the place as he cut significantly across the turn. His radio advised him to give the place to Vettel, but Daniel Ricciardo was right behind Vettel as well. Giving up the place to Vettel may have compromised his spot to Ricciardo as well.

So Verstappen didn't give the place back, and though Ricciardo caught up to Vettel and actually made contact with him while trying to overtake on the penultimate lap, the three finished in order, with Verstappen on pole, Vettel in fourth and Ricciardo in fifth. The stewards announced they would be investigating the move from Verstappen after the race.

After the race, they gave Verstappen a five-second penalty, putting him behind both Vettel and Ricciardo. Verstappen was actually in the cool-down room ready to get on the podium when he was asked to leave, and was replaced by Vettel.

Kimi Raikkonen made a move on Nico Hulkenberg to take sixth place with just a handful of laps to go, but there was contact on the overtake, which spun Hulkenberg out. Hulkenberg managed to hang on and keep seventh place for the finish. Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa of Williams were eighth and ninth, respectively, while Sergio Perez of Force India finished in 10th to round out the finishers in the points.

Below is the full finishing order for Sunday's race:

Position Driver Team
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams
9 Felipe Massa Williams
10 Sergio Perez Force India
11 Marcus Ericsson Sauber
12 Jenson Button McLaren
13 Fernando Alonso McLaren
14 Jolyon Palmer Renault
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber
16 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso
17 Kevin Magnussen Renault
18 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso
19 Esteban Gutierrez Haas
20 Romain Grosjean Haas
21 Esteban Ocon MRT
22 Pascal Wehrlein MRT