clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

F1 live stream: Mexican Grand Prix start time, TV schedule, and how to watch online

Sebastian Vettel has pole as he tries to stay in the Drivers Championship behind Lewis Hamilton.

F1 Grand Prix of Mexico - Qualifying Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images

The Mexican Grand Prix is nearly here, and things are getting interesting. Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari put forth an incredible effort on his last lap in qualifying to pass Max Verstappen of Red Bull and earn pole position at Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez. Verstappen has second, and the championship leader, Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes, will start third on the grid.

Sunday’s race will be broadcast by NBC in the United States, beginning at 3 p.m. ET. Live streaming for the grand prix can also be found via NBC Sports Live in web browsers or the NBC Sports app.

Hamilton can claim the Drivers Championship with a finish of fifth or better in Sunday’s race, while Vettel needs him to do worse than that while winning himself. Hamilton should be able to handily claim fifth place unless something goes seriously wrong. Still, the British driver wants to win the whole race.

“It’s an easy one-stop strategy here,” Hamilton said. “You can’t overtake. You need a 1.4-second delta, I think it is, to the car in front to overtake, so it’s going to be a train. But if you get a good start, or if I’m able to be close enough at a pitstop, maybe? Who knows? We’ll see.”

Hamilton felt strongly that he didn’t mess up anywhere on his lap, and that he gave it everything he could with his Mercedes. Vettel and Verstappen were just better on the day, and got more from their cars.

“I gave it everything I could,” Hamilton said. “It just wasn’t the cleanest of sessions and they were quicker. The car balance was fine, we just needed more.”

Hamilton will be next to teammate Valtteri Bottas on the second row, while Kimi Raikkonen of Ferrari and Esteban Ocon of Force India occupy the third row. Daniel Ricciardo, Verstappen’s Red Bull teammate, will start on the fourth row next to Nico Hulkenberg of Renault.

Carlos Sainz Jr. of Renault and Sergio Perez of Force India round out the top 10.

There have been more drivers switching, but things are essentially back to the new “normal” on that front. Sainz remains with Renault, Jolyon Palmer remains without a seat, and now Pierre Gasly is back in at Toro Rosso.

Gasly originally replaced Daniil Kvyat, who returned for the last race while Gasly raced in another discipline. With Sainz leaving Toro Rosso, that made the way for Brendon Hartley to start. Now Kvyat is out, Gasly is back and Toro Rosso is rolling with the pairing of Gasly and Hartley for Sunday’s race.

Below is all you need to know to watch the action on Sunday as well as the full lineup and starting grid for the grand prix.

How to watch Formula One Mexican Grand Prix

Date: Oct. 29, 2017

Location: Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City, Mexico

Time: 3 p.m. ET


Online Streaming: NBC Sports Live

Mexican Grand Prix Starting Grid

Driver Team Best Time
Driver Team Best Time
Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:16.488
Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:16.574
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:16.934
Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:16.958
Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:17.238
Esteban Ocon Force India 1:17.437
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:17.447
Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1:17.464
Carlos Sainz Jr. Renault 1:17.794
Sergio Pérez Force India 1:17.807
Felipe Massa Williams 1:18.099
Lance Stroll Williams 1:19.159
Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso No time
Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:19.176
Pascal Wehrlein Sauber 1:19.333
Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:19.443
Romain Grosjean Haas 1:19.473
Fernando Alonso McLaren No time
Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren No time
Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso No time