clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2012 Masters Honorary Starters: Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer And Gary Player Start The Tournament

The 2012 Masters gets underway early Thursday morning, with the Honorary Starters signaling the start of the tournament yet again. The tradition of having an Honorary Starter or starters began at Augusta National in 1963. Arnold Palmer, who has been an honorary starter since 2007, and Jack Nicklaus, who began his tenure as an honorary starter in 2010, will be joined by a third starter this year.

Hall of Fame golfer Gary Player will join them on the first tee this season for the first time. Player, Nicklaus and Palmer competed against each other for multiple decades and were golf's most dominant players in the 1960s and 1970s. Each Masters from 1960 to 1966 was won by one of the three men. Between the three of them, they have won The Masters 13 times.

A full leaderboard throughout the tournament can be found at

For more, be sure to stay tuned to our 2012 Masters StoryStream. For more on golf in general, check out SB Nation's golf blog Waggle Room and SB Nation's dedicated golf hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube