clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Keegan Bradley makes rookie mistake, incurs two-shot penalty at Bay Hill

Keegan Bradley entered Sunday’s finale of the Arnold Palmer Invitational in the hunt but a two-shot penalty followed by an errant shot out of bounds left him well back of 54-hole leader Henrik Stenson.

Keegan Bradley made a rookie mistake on the second hole at Bay Hill on Sunday when he incurred a two-shot penalty for brushing sand out of the line of his putt, which was coming from about 45 feet and off the green.

While doing so to improve the line of play while on the green would be fine, rules prohibit golfers from doing so when their balls are off the putting surface. Bradley, who is rocking a bright red pair of Air Jordans, followed up that brain cramp and a double-bogey-five by losing his approach shot on the next hole out of bounds.

That error, after Bradley began the day with a birdie on the first, led to a triple-bogey on the par-four third and took the 2011 PGA champion out of contention at the tourney where he finished second in 2014. He had dropped 30 spots on the leaderboard before he even made the turn at Bay Hill.

Bradley, by the way, realized he had screwed up almost immediately and called a referee over to call the foul on himself.

★★★

SB Nation presents: Luke Thomas is pissed about Tiger's waning career