clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 British Open tee times: Pairings for Thursday's first round

The tee times draw matters more at The Open than any other tournament because of the fickle changes in the weather. Thursday morning's group, which includes Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth, should have relatively calm and good scoring conditions.

The Open Championship is the game's oldest major and it's separate and unique from the other three in so many ways. The obvious ones are that it's the only major abroad and it's always played on a true links style course in dramatically different weather conditions from the US majors.

But another way The Open stands out is how the field is slotted on the tee shot. A links course is meant to be played from No. 1 through 18, and never with a split-tee system of half the field going off No. 10. Because of where and when The Open takes place, the entire 156-man field is able to go off the 1st tee. That's an unrealistic dream at the U.S. Open, which is played during the longest days of the summer, and at the PGA Championship -- two majors that have the exact same size fields. The two U.S. majors try to dodge any inclement weather and grind to navigate 156 players off two tees through 36 holes of sun-up to sun-down before the cut is made.

In Scotland in mid-July, the sun rises around 4:30 a.m. and does not set until just before 10 p.m., although you can play golf much later than that. So there's actually ample time to send 52 groups of three in rolling tee times all off No. 1. Everyone has the pleasure of hearing their name called by Ivor Robson, the legendary and distinctive starter at The Open. Robson has called each player's name and country at The Open for 41 years but this one at St. Andrews will be his last. His voice is unmistakable and you will hear him bright and early in that wide-open 1st tee setting at the Old Course, where he will not take a bathroom break for the entire day.

Scotland is five hours ahead of the Eastern U.S. so tee times will being at 6:32 local and 1:32 ET. Much is made of the draw at the Open -- are you early-late or late-early for the first two rounds? The tee time impacts a player at The Open more than any tournament because the weather turns so quickly and can present an entirely different course from morning to afternoon.

This year, the good side of the draw is supposed to be the late-early group because Friday afternoon is looking brutal with 45 mph gusting winds. Jordan Spieth, Dustin Johnson, and Tiger Woods are among the tee times scheduled on the unlucky side of the draw. Friday may be ugly for that group, but Thursday should be smooth. Spieth goes at 4:33 a.m. ET and will be on the marquee group stream on ESPN3/WatchESPN. Tiger Woods is just two groups later at 4:55 and while he won't have his own stream like last year, you know his every shot will be featured prominently on the broadcast (which comes on the air at 4 a.m. on ESPN). It's supposed to be relatively dry and calm Thursday morning, so those two may need to post a low number given what may await the following afternoon.

Here's the full tee sheet for the opening round at St. Andrews (all times ET):

Tee Time Players
1:32 a.m. Thomas Bjorn Greg Owen Rod Pampling
1:43 a.m. Todd Hamilton Paul Dunne James Hahn
1:54 a.m. Graham DeLaet Brian Harman Russell Knox
2:05 a.m. Matt Every Alexander Levy David Lingmerth
2:16 a.m. Joost Luiten Matt Jones Robert Streb
2:27 a.m. Anthony Wall Byeong-Hun An Jordan Niebrugge
2:38 a.m. Sandy Lyle Charley Hoffman Kevin Na
2:49 a.m. Retief Goosen Shane Lowry Kevin Streelman
3:00 a.m. Carl Pettersson Luke Donald Hunter Mahan
3:11 a.m. Ross Fisher Victor Dubuisson Billy Horschel
3:22 a.m. Graeme McDowell Webb Simpson Oliver Schniederjans
3:33 a.m. Ernie Els Tom Watson Brandt Snedeker
3:44 a.m. J.B. Holmes Brendon Todd Shinji Tomimura
4:00 a.m. Ian Poulter Charl Schwartzel Bubba Watson
4:11 a.m. Sergio Garcia Lee Westwood Patrick Reed
4:22 a.m. Darren Clarke Matteo Manassero Romain Langasque
4:33 a.m. Dustin Johnson Hideki Matsuyama Jordan Spieth
4:44 a.m. Paul Lawrie Ryan Palmer Kevin Kisner
4:55 a.m. Tiger Woods Louis Oosthuizen Jason Day
5:06 a.m. John Senden Tadahiro Takayama Brooks Koepka
5:17 a.m. David Duval Stewart Cink Ben Curtis
5:28 a.m. Mikko Ilonen David Howell Greg Chalmers
5:39 a.m. Raphael Jacquelin David Hearn Eddie Pepperell
5:50 a.m. Tyrrell Hatton Scott Arnold Paul Kinnear
6:01 a.m. Adam Bland Gary Boyd Daniel Brooks
6:12 a.m. Scott Hend Jonathan Moore Ryan Fox
6:33 a.m. Mark Calcavecchia Marcel Siem Jaco Van Zyl
6:44 a.m. Thomas Aiken David Lipsky Jonas Blixt
6:55 a.m. Soren Kjeldsen Morgan Hoffmann Danny Lee
7:06 a.m. Richie Ramsay Pablo Larrazabal Cameron Tringale
7:17 a.m. Steven Bowditch Hiroshi Iwata Ben Martin
7:28 a.m. George Coetzee Anirban Lahiri Rafael Cabrera-Bello
7:39 a.m. Padraig Harrington Liang Wen-Chong Marc Warren
7:50 a.m. John Daly Miguel Angel Jimenez Jason Dufner
8:01 a.m. Zach Johnson Bernd Wiesberger Tommy Fleetwood
8:12 a.m. Thongchai Jaidee Danny Willett Gary Woodland
8:23 a.m. Geoff Ogilvy Francesco Molinari Bill Haas
8:34 a.m. Mark O'Meara Russell Henley Gunn Yang
8:45 a.m. Bernhard Langer Tom Lehman Justin Leonard
9:01 a.m. Stephen Gallacher Hiroyuki Fujita Ryan Moore
9:12 a.m. Adam Scott Martin Kaymer Jimmy Walker
9:23 a.m. Jamie Donaldson Yuta Ikeda Keegan Bradley
9:34 a.m. Matt Kuchar Phil Mickelson Henrik Stenson
9:45 a.m. Nick Faldo Justin Rose Rickie Fowler
10:56 a.m. Jim Furyk Paul Casey Branden Grace
10:07 a.m. Harris English Ashley Chesters Andy Sullivan
10:18 a.m. Koumei Oda Marc Leishman Kiradech Aphibarnrat
10:29 a.m. Edoardo Molinari James Morrison Romain Wattel
10:40 a.m. Pelle Edberg Daniel Berger Mark Young
10:51 a.m. Brett Rumford Tom Gillis Ben Taylor
11:02 a.m. Marcus Fraser Scott Strange Alister Balcombe
11:13 a.m. Taichi Teshima Robert Dinwiddie Rikard Karlberg