clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

PGA Championship tee times 2016: Start time and pairings for Thursday's opening round

There are 97 of the top 100 players in the world on a jam-packed tee sheet at the PGA Championship.

There are just four more rounds of major championship golf this season, the sadness of which is mitigated in a Ryder Cup year. But Thursday marks the start of the 98th PGA Championship and balls will be in the air at 7 a.m. ET at Baltusrol.

The PGA has the same field size as both the U.S. Open and British Open, busting at the seams with 156 players. Naturally, they will send everyone off split tees in groups of three for a full day of golf. If there's no weather disruption, getting all 156 through 18 holes should be no issue before darkness. The final group goes at 2:15 p.m. ET, which would set up a finish, hopefully at the latest, by 7:30 p.m. The first-round broadcast on TNT is scheduled to run from 1-7 p.m., so you'll see all the afternoon players who matter.

As for the morning, that's a different story. Two weeks ago at The Open, Golf Channel started their broadcast live at 6:30 a.m. local in Scotland for the very first tee shot of the first round. That was something that had never been done before and obviously Golf Channel has that luxury, because well, they're the golf channel.

The PGA and TNT don't have that kind of deal, so you're not going to get much of those morning tee times. That includes the 8:30 a.m. heavyweight trio of Rory McIlroy, Jason Day, and Phil Mickelson, which, in my humble opinion, is the best group of the whole damn tee sheet. But fear not, if you have an Internet connection, those three will play on the marquee groups stream Thursday morning. So while you won't get much, if any, of that first half of the tee sheet on TV, the biggest names will be shown somewhere.

The big names in the afternoon will include Sergio Garcia, Bubba Watson, and Jordan Spieth at 1:25 p.m. Expect to see just about their every shot on the TNT broadcast. Players around that marquee trio include Justin Rose, Patrick Reed, Dustin Johnson, Henrik Stenson, and Danny Willett. Those last three will all play together for the first two days, as is PGA custom -- they always put the season's first three major winners together and they'll start at 1:45 p.m.

It's the start of the last major of the season, which some hearty fools would argue is the best of the four. It feels wrong to get it going in July, but this is what the Olympics hath wrought. Here's the full tee sheet for the first two rounds at the PGA:

Thursday, July 28 off No. 1 tee

7:00 a.m.--Mark Brown, Patton Kizzire, Bradley Dredge
7:10 a.m.--Tommy Sharp, Jon Curran, K.J. Choi
7:20 a.m.--Josh Speight, Kristoffer Broberg, Jason Kokrak
7:30 a.m.--Daniel Berger, Darren Clarke, David Lingmerth
7:40 a.m.--Aaron Baddeley, Kevin Kisner, Emiliano Grillo
7:50 a.m.--Vijay Singh, John Daly, Padraig Harrington
8:00 a.m.--Victor Dubuisson, Marcus Fraser, James Hahn
8:10 a.m.--Soren Kjeldsen, Scott Hend, Billy Hurley III
8:20 a.m.--Charley Hoffman, Matt Jones, Rikard Karlberg
8:30 a.m.--Robert Streb, Vaughn Taylor, Kevin Na
8:40 a.m.--Roberto Castro, Jonas Blixt, Gregory Bourdy
8:50 a.m.--Omar Uresti, Greg Chalmers, Ross Fisher
9:00 a.m.--David Muttitt, Smylie Kaufman, Zac Blair
12:15 p.m.--Colt Knost, Joe Summerhays, Yuta Ikeda
12:25 p.m.--Ryan Palmer, Rob Labritz, Gary Woodland
12:35 p.m.--Scott Piercy, Alex Noren, Andrew Johnston
12:45 p.m.--Rocco Mediate, Rich Berberian Jr., Shaun Micheel
12:55 p.m.--Anirban Lahiri, Tony Finau, Matthew Fitzpatrick
1:05 p.m.--Luke Donald, Matt Kuchar, Danny Lee
1:15 p.m.--Francesco Molinari, Shane Lowry, Jim Furyk
1:25 p.m.--Sergio Garcia, Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson
1:35 p.m.--Justin Rose, Patrick Reed, Charl Schwartzel
1:45 p.m.--Danny Willett, Dustin Johnson, Henrik Stenson
1:55 p.m.--Graeme McDowell, Webb Simpson, Louis Oosthuizen
2:05 p.m.--Ben Polland, Ryan Moore, Kyle Reifers
2:15 p.m.--Mitch Lowe, Younghan Song, Kevin Streelman

Thursday, July 28 off No. 10 tee

7:00 a.m.--Chris Kirk, Wyatt Worthington II, Freddie Jacobson
7:10 a.m.--Brian Gaffney, Jeunghun Wang, Jason Bohn
7:20 a.m.--J.B. Holmes, Brian Stuard, Hideki Matsuyama
7:30 a.m.--Matt Dobyns, Tyrrell Hatton, Harris English
7:40 a.m.--Ernie Els, Rickie Fowler, Zach Johnson
7:50 a.m.--Jimmy Walker, Chris Wood, Branden Grace
8:00 a.m.--Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Justin Thomas, Paul Casey
8:10 a.m.--Brandt Snedeker, Brooks Koepka, Lee Westwood
8:20 a.m.--Keegan Bradley, Adam Scott, Jamie Donaldson
8:30 a.m.--Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jason Day
8:40 a.m.--Bill Haas, Andy Sullivan, Jamie Lovemark
8:50 a.m.--Rod Perry, George Coetzee, Hideto Tanihara
9:00 a.m.--Nicolas Colsaerts, Ryan Helminen, Jhonattan Vegas
12:15 p.m.--Michael Block, John Senden, Harold Varner III
12:25 p.m.--Johan Kok, Troy Merritt, Kevin Chappell
12:35 p.m.--Thorbjorn Olesen, Fabian Gomez, Russell Henley
12:45 p.m.--David Toms, Rich Beem, Steve Stricker
12:55 p.m.--James Morrison, Brandon Stone, Billy Horschel
1:05 p.m.--Jason Dufner, Y.E. Yang, Martin Kaymer
1:15 p.m.--Brendan Steele, Bernd Wiesberger, Byeong Hun An
1:25 p.m.--Marc Leishman, Russell Knox, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
1:35 p.m.--Thongchai Jaidee, Jim Herman, Thomas Pieters
1:45 p.m.--Soomin Lee, Joost Luiten, William McGirt
1:55 p.m.--K.T. Kim, Brad Lardon, Peter Malnati
2:05 p.m.--Daniel Summerhays, Rick Schuller, Cameron Tringale
2:15 p.m.--Bryce Molder, Brad Ott, Si Woo Kim