clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Memorial Tournament 2018: Tee times, pairings for Tiger Woods and field for Round 1

Woods returns to the PGA Tour in a state and at a tournament where he’s piled up wins.

The Memorial Tournament Presented By Nationwide - Preview Day 3
Tiger loads up at the Memorial.
Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

After a two-week break, Tiger Woods returns to the PGA Tour Thursday morning at the Memorial Tournament. It’s a friendly venue for Woods and one of those places he’s owned over the course of his career. He’s not owned it to the extent he’s owned Bay Hill or Torrey Pines or Firestone, but he still counts five career victories at Jack Nicklaus’ event. That’s a career many pros would happily take.

Woods skipped the Texas two-step, that annual back-to-back series in the Dallas-Fort Worth area following The Players. No one expected him to add those to his schedule but the Memorial was always a lock. It’s the only event he plays, usually, between The Players and the U.S. Open. So this is likely all we’ll see of Woods before he tees it up at Shinnecock Hills in a few weeks.

Woods will start his week in Columbus bright and early on Thursday, going off alongside Justin Rose and Jason Dufner. It’s a comfortable pairing for Woods, who plays with Dufner down in South Florida and during several practice rounds. Rose is also an easy playing partner and has been around the block with Woods before too. They tee off at 8:26 a.m. ET at Muirfield Village, which is notorious for catching horrible weather breaks the one week of the year they have this tournament. It’s supposed to rain again on Thursday, and potentially every day after that. But the morning wave does look like it could get past the worst of it so we could see Woods come in on time Thursday afternoon.

If you want to watch Woods, you’ll need a subscription to PGA Tour Live or ESPN+. Woods will be in the featured groups stream on those services and, barring no weather delays, play out of the TV coverage window on Golf Channel from 2:30 to 6:30 p.m. ET. Here’s your tee sheet for Thursday’s opening round at the Memorial:

Off No. 1 tee:

All times Eastern
  • 7:20 a.m. — Martin Laird, Byeong Hun An, Tom Hoge
  • 7:31 a.m. — J.J. Spaun, Peter Uihlein, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
  • 7:42 a.m. — Bill Haas, Beau Hossler, Abraham Ancer
  • 7:53 a.m. — Henrik Stenson, Adam Scott, Jim Furyk
  • 8:04 a.m. — Ted Potter, Jr., Austin Cook, Grayson Murray
  • 8:15 a.m. — Shane Lowry, David Lingmerth, Ernie Els
  • 8:26 a.m. — Russell Henley, William McGirt, Brian Gay
  • 8:37 a.m. — Patrick Cantlay, Kyle Stanley, Chris Kirk
  • 8:48 a.m. — Rod Pampling, Nick Watney, Kenny Perry
  • 8:59 a.m. — Yuta Ikeda, Will Zalatoris, Doc Redman
  • 12:10 p.m. — Scott Brown, Daniel Summerhays, Keith Mitchell
  • 12:21 p.m. — Carl Pettersson, Kevin Na, Kelly Kraft
  • 12:32 p.m. — Lucas Glover, Jason Kokrak, Patrick Rodgers
  • 12:43 p.m. — Wesley Bryan, James Hahn, Branden Grace
  • 12:54 p.m. — Patton Kizzire, Hideki Matsuyama, Russel Knox
  • 1:05 p.m. — Jason Day, Rory McIlroy, Dustin Johnson
  • 1:16 p.m. — Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson, Jordan Spieth
  • 1:27 p.m. — Jhonattan Vegas, Cameron Smith, Emiliano Grillo
  • 1:38 p.m. — Ryan Moore, Charley Hoffman, K.J. Choi
  • 1:49 p.m. — Trey Mullinax, Shubhankar Sharma, Andrew Dorn

Off No. 10 tee:

  • 7:20 a.m. — Chesson Hadley, Luke List, Martin Piller
  • 7:31 a.m. — Sung Kang, Whee Kim, Kevin Tway
  • 7:42 a.m. — Kevin Streelman, Jamie Lovemark, Anirban Lahiri
  • 7:53 a.m. — Adam Hadwin, Mackenzie Hughes, Brian Stuard
  • 8:04 a.m. — Gary Woodland, Pat Perez, Stewart Cink
  • 8:15 a.m. — Patrick Reed, Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler
  • 8:26 a.m. — Justin Rose, Jason Dufner, Tiger Woods
  • 8:37 a.m. — Marc Leishman, Matt Kuchar, Louis Oosthuizen
  • 8:48 a.m. — Andrew Landry, Brice Garnett, Bryson DeChambeau
  • 8:59 a.m. — Cameron Davis, Joaquin Niemann, Sam Burns
  • 12:10 p.m. — Danny Lee, Rory Sabbatini, Brandon Harkins
  • 12:21 p.m. — John Senden, Bud Cauley, Ollie Schniederjan
  • 12:32 p.m. — Alex Cejka, Robert Streb, John Huh
  • 12:43 p.m. — Ryan Armour, Sangmoon Bae, Vijay Singh
  • 12:54 p.m. — Xander Schauffele, Jonas Blixt, Charl Schwartzel
  • 1:05 p.m. — Kevin Kisner, Si Woo Kim, Tony Finau
  • 1:16 p.m. — Kevin Chappell, Zach Johnson, Charles Howell III
  • 1:27 p.m. — Aaron Wise, Billy Horschel, Satoshi Kodaira
  • 1:38 p.m. — J.B. Holmes, Keegan Bradley, Sean O’Hair
  • 1:49 p.m. — Yusaku Miyazato, Julian Suri, Harry Ellis