clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indy 500 results 2014: Ryan Hunter-Reay takes the checkered flag

Hunter-Reay finished off a thrilling race, out-dueling Helio Castroneves down the stretch.

Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

The 2014 Indianapolis 500 restarted with just six laps remaining and Ryan Hunter-Reay sprinted to the finish for the win.

The race was halted with just 10 laps remaining after Townsend Bell went into the wall. With a large amount of debris littering the track, the decision was made to halt the race and set up an exciting sprint to the finish.

Hunter-Reay came out of the restart with the lead and battled with Helio Castroneves over the final six laps, and the two traded the lead multiple times after the restart.

Castroneves was in control for much of the early going, leading 36 of the first 100 laps.

The first three quarters of the race were pristine, but the yellow flag began waving frequently down the stretch. Charlie Kimball spun into the outside corner of Turn 2 to bring out the first caution of the day 150 laps in. Scott Dixon brought out the race's second caution when he hit the wall with less than 40 laps to go.

Almost immediately after the ensuing restart, Ed Carpenter and James Hinchcliffe got tangled up and took each other into the wall, bringing the yellow flag up with 25 laps to go. The accident was initiated when Bell gave Carpenter a slight bump moving around him on the outside. Carpenter began the race with the pole position.

NASCAR's Kurt Busch finished sixth, becoming the first driver in 10 years to compete in the Indy 500 and the Coca Cola 600 on same day.

Here's the complete finishing order:

  1. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  2. Helio Castroneves
  3. Marco Andretti
  4. Carlos Munoz
  5. Juan Pablo Montoya
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Sebastien Bourdais
  8. Will Power
  9. Sage Karam
  10. JR Hildebrand
  11. Oriol Servia
  12. Simon Pagenaud
  13. Alex Tagliani
  14. Jacques Villenueve
  15. Sebastian Saavedra
  16. James Davison
  17. Carlos Huertas
  18. Ryan Briscoe
  19. Takuma Sato
  20. Jack Hawksworth
  21. Mikhail Aleshin
  22. Justin Wilson
  23. Martin Plowman
  24. Pippa Mann
  25. Townsend Bell
  26. Tony Kanaan
  27. Ed Carpenter
  28. James Hinchcliffe
  29. Scott Dixon
  30. Josef Newgarden
  31. Charlie Kimball
  32. Buddy Lazier
  33. Graham Rahal