clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Indy 500: Start time, schedule and TV coverage

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

The 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 is Sunday afternoon, long one of the premier national events on the sporting calendar. But in 2016 the event has a local angle too, with the race available on television locally in Indianapolis for the first time in 66 years.

ABC begins its television coverage with a pre-race show at 11 a.m. ET, with race coverage set for noon. Allen Bestwick will call the race, joined in the booth by analysts Scott Goodyear and Eddie Cheeever, plus pit reporters Jon Beekhuis, Rick DeBruhl and Dr. Jerry Punch.

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway announced on Wednesday that the race would be televised nationally across the entire United States, thanks to the first-ever complete sellout in the history of the race. This marks just the third time the race will be televised live in Central Indiana, including Indianapolis ABC affiliate WRTV, and the first time since 1950.

James Hinchcliffe has the pole position for Sunday's race, and among the 33-car field is Helio Castroneves, trying to become the fourth four-time winner of the Indy 500. Castroneves last won in 2009. The other multiple Indy winner in the field is Juan Pablo Montoya, who captured the checkered flag in 2000 and 2015.

The race can be followed online both before and during the action using WatchESPN.

Indianapolis 500 info

Location: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Pre-race coverage: 11 a.m. ET

Race coverage: noon ET

Green flag: 12:17 p.m. ET


Online: WatchESPN