That's Cavaliers head coach David Blatt almost ruining the LeBron James game-winning buzzer beater by attempting to call a timeout when he didn't have one.
David Blatt on the timeout he tried to call: "I almost blew it"— Dave McMenamin (@mcten) May 10, 2015
Calling a timeout when you don't have any left will result in a technical foul according to Rule No. 12, Part A, Section I on Excessive Fouls and Penalties.
Just like when Chris Webber got a technical foul for calling a timeout when he didn't have one. Remember?
It almost took away this:
So did the refs ignore Blatt, or did they just not see him? Here's their explanation:
Mike Bantom, the NBA's executive vice president of referee operations, weighed in on David Blatt's intended timeout: pic.twitter.com/3DozJnGMGT— Dave McMenamin (@mcten) May 11, 2015
SB Nation presents: Simple rules for playing against LeBron