clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


David Blatt tried to call a timeout when he had none left

New, comments

The Cavaliers coach almost messed up one of the biggest wins in the franchise's history.

That's Cavaliers head coach David Blatt almost ruining the LeBron James game-winning buzzer beater by attempting to call a timeout when he didn't have one.

Calling a timeout when you don't have any left will result in a technical foul according to Rule No. 12, Part A, Section I on Excessive Fouls and Penalties.

Just like when Chris Webber got a technical foul for calling a timeout when he didn't have one. Remember?

It almost took away this:

So did the refs ignore Blatt, or did they just not see him? Here's their explanation:

SB Nation presents: Simple rules for playing against LeBron