clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2010 N.L. Cy Young: Roy Halladay Unanimous Choice Among Bloggers

There's less than two hours to go, now, before the announcement of the winner of the 2010 National League Cy Young Award. Pitchers expected to get some consideration are Roy Halladay, Adam Wainwright, Tim Lincecum, Ubaldo Jimenez, and Josh Johnson, and no one is able to make any guarantees. While Halladay looks like the strong favorite, we don't know that he's going to win. We have to wait.

If you ask our network of bloggers, though, there's really no question. No question at all. We decided to poll our group of NL bloggers to see who they think would be the most deserving choice for the award. And the results are surprisingly - or, perhaps, unsurprisingly - unanimous. This is Roy Halladay's league. The rest of the pitchers just live in it.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Roy Halladay 33 231
Adam Wainwright 16 5 10 2 101
Ubaldo Jimenez 8 16 5 1 91
Josh Johnson 7 9 9 5 78
Tim Lincecum 2 2 4 8 30
Tim Hudson 2 5 9
Mat Latos 1 2 1 8
Roy Oswalt 1 4 6
Clayton Kershaw 3 3
Cole Hamels 2 2
Carlos Marmol 1 1
Jaime Garcia 1 1

Note that this year's voting is different from what it's been in the past. Before, voters selected their top three candidates. In 2010, they will select their top five, with a 7/4/3/2/1 points system. This was instituted as a way to get more pitchers some ballot recognition.